We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Artic Char” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peasant Cookery

Peasant Cookery
Reserve with OpenTable
Peasant Cookery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,625 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: King St.
Description: Peasant Cookery is located in the heart of Winnipeg, a food lover"s city. Providing our customers with fresh food, flavours and recipes is at the heart of what we do. Our passion for researching current food trends and updating our menus with unique ingredients has kept us at the forefront of the healthy food movement.
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Artic Char”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went for dinner - had artic char, and it was done excellent. Service was pretty good, could have been better. Menu a little short on selection - about 10 choices for dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claypodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    97
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WINNIPEG,CANADA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Tenderloin was very tasty, when they say cabbage , expect just a very small amount on top of tenderloin and few brussel sprouts, I substituted mashed for speatzle which was amazing ! liver was also very good

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

All the staff was pleasant and attentive. Onion soup a starter lacked cheese and was watery. Arctic char was good to follow, nicely crisped skin, excellent couscous underneath.

Helpful?
Thank AG872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“appetizers were great....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

first we had made reservations that day for seven pm. when we arrived the man who greeted us said that, no, the reservations had been for six. he looked around at the dining room that had lots of empty tables and said we could be seated at the bar....
so we went to the bar.
as he said it was the same food but the ambience wasn't as nice by a long shot and for a fairly expensive meal it wasn't the atomosphere we had hoped for, the hockey game on the big screen tv just didn't cut it.
that being said- the waitress was really nice. we ordered appetizers that were really good- beet salad, roasted broccolli salad and french onion soup.
the main courses though weren't as good- mine was pretty icky- pork chop stuffed with soft cheese was really good but the sides were deepfried brussel sprouts but they had been left in too long and were, frankly burnt. and saurkraut that just tasted odd. had a large portion of mashed potatoes as well that were good but it frankly needed some other vegetables and not so much startch. other entries were okay but had some flaws as well. my friend had grilled fish that was quite good but had spaetzle noodles that had been panfried with vegetables- as my friend said- she could make better noodles at home. they probably would have benefitted by just cooking them and then not panfrying as well. other entree was a meat pie- really good and it was served with french fries that were good as well.
so overall it was great appetizers but very uneven main courses.
so if you go- would frankly just order all appetizers from our experience!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of Winnieg's best spots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food and decor at Peasant makes you feel like you're are in another city (New York or Montreal). The interior is classy and charming, the view is of Old Market Square in the exchange. When the weather's nice you can sit outside in a cute little patio.

Prices are above average in the city, but their daily specials well make up for that, especially buck a chuck oysters on Wednesday and half price charcuterie on Monday! Most of the food is local (obviously not the oysters) and the charcuterie is made completely in house including the pickles.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peasant Cookery also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Peasant Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing