We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for Teriyaki sauce”

Chop Steakhouse & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Chop Steakhouse & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,639 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: St. James Industrial
Cross street: Century St.
Description: Winnipeg's Chop Steakhouse is located minutes from the Winnipeg International Airport. Visit us for a great steak or seafood dinner and a glass of wine.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent except for Teriyaki sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went as a party of 5 all for the first time. We liked the atmosphere, although a bit too dark. We had a nice quiet spot and round table which was great for a group of five. Service by our server Michael was excellent.
Really only a couple complaints. The first one was a real issue for me as I'm sensitive to salt. The teriyaki sauce was extremely salty. Three of us had teriyaki steak and of those two like a lot of salt, but this was excessive. Worst part is it pooled on the plate and was therefore in the rice making it too salty as well. Second issue were the carrots. They were barely cooked, almost raw.
However, we really enjoyed the onion soup and seafood chowder and salads. The cuts of steak and the ribs were all excellent. The trio desert was also wonderful.
We'd go back and give it another try but avoid anything teriyaki.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    111
    63
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK food, Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tried this restaurant for the first time. The menu was good, but the service was awful. We thought it was a more upscale restaurant, especially with the decor and price. However the servers and clientele dictated different. Seemed more like an upscale Perkins crowd. I think we would have had much better service at Perkins, for sure. They need to work on a lot of things to get people coming back for a second time here. They fillet I ordered was $37.00, delicious...but a very small portion. About half of the size you get at the Keg (seemed like about 4/5 oz.s). For that price you would get way more in another restaurant. The Caesar salad was awesome too. Too bad, when you spend that kind of money you expect a friendly and knowledgeable server, and more attention. TOO BAD, won't be back for more:(

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Would try again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This restaurant is quite pricey but the meal was excellent. My husband and I dined with our toddler. Her meal was cute as it included a mini cold appetizer, including cucumbers with dip, an orange wedge, a strawberry and craisins. She loved the craisins! Our food was great, and I highly recommend the asparagus to share, it was superb.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, great ambience, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A quality meal, attentive and exceptional service and great ambience. Best dining experience in Winnipeg during my 5 day stay there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, enjoyable atmosphere, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We tried this place out for an end of day dinner as a group of 8 on a business trip and were certainly not disappointed. Even though we showed up early for a reservation, they kindly accommodated and seated us immediately.
Seated at a great circular table with nice high back chairs gave a sense of "privacy" even though its a busy and bustling place.
Our server was fantastic engaging in friendly conversation, recommendations and just enough small talk to make the service personal, but never over-staying at the table.
Food came out in reasonable time and all together which is always good with 8 meals of varying meats & temperatures. Everything cooked to perfection, no complaints around the table, yet no room for desserts as all were stuffed. 4 People had steak (3 different cuts), 2 Prime Ribs, 1 chicken, 1 fish, all delicious and cooked as ordered.
As this was a work group, we stayed and chatted for a bit as drinks were finished, though were never rushed or urged to pay and leave.
I am a big fan of Steakhouses that offer a well rounded experience and not just an over priced slab of meat, solid experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chop Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing