We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Resto Gare

Resto Gare
Ranked #26 of 1,638 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
Description: Classic French Bistro in 1913 historic St Boniface Train Station. Owned by the same family since 1983. Service available in French or English.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Great service, food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had family in from Montreal and wanted a relaxing enviroment to visit and of course eat! I found this restaurant on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The 6 of us all enjoyed the different entries we had, steak, fish, braised bison short ribs to name a few. My daughter of 16 said it was the best food she has ever had! And the rest of us agreed! The escargos were particularly good! Deserts were fabulous! All in all a night to remember. The service was great. We will return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    76
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Tastey Salmon”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are regulars at Resto Gare. One of my favorite entres is the grilled Salmon ($26.00). Always quite tastey and well-presented. A nice healthy and right-sized portion! My wife's favorite is the Tortare (meat pie)--another tastey and right-sized dinner!
Dining on the Patio Thursday evenings is always enjoyable wth the live entertainment.
Staff is friendly, but sometimes a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So-so food and slow service”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went with a group of six for dinner in June. We were seated promptly and had our water and beverages fairly quickly. The experience went downhill from there. It took forever to get our food and one of the steaks was burned around the edges and was inedible.Our waiter never came by to ask if we liked our meals so we asked the bus person to fetch him so that we could get a replacement. It took so long to get the new steak that the rest of us were half way through our meals when it arrived. The rest of our meals were just OK and one expects more at a self proclaimed fine dining establishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently were in Winnipeg and the Gare was recommended to us. We had five in our party and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Everyone's meal was delicious. Reminds you of the good French Canadian food experiences you may have had in the past or while visiting PQ. I had French relatives so in days gone by had good food at their parties. The decor is cozy comfortable they have one room in an old train car and there is a lovely outdoor patio where they have jazz some evenings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Branagh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited Resto Gare last April as one of our monthly meetings and were very pleased with our experience. The luncheon menu choices were outstanding and service was exceptional! all 20 of us had dessert which was nicely presented and explained .Surely we will return .Congratulation to the owners and staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myslk350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Resto Gare also viewed

 

Been to Resto Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing