We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but well worth the wait!”

Stella's Cafe on Osborne
Ranked #2 of 1,655 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In December of 1999, Stella’s Café & Bakery opened its doors to the Winnipeg market at 166 Osborne Street. The concept utilized the talents and experience of each of the founders, Tore, Lehla, Tomas and Anneen to create a menu and environment focused on in-house baked breads, soups, jam, and sandwiches for dine-in or take-away. Simple, healthy, inspired offerings and friendly service propelled Stella’s to instant popularity. An understated approach and commitment to quality allowed the name of Stella’s to be promoted in the most powerful of manners, by word of mouth. And boy, did everyone like to talk about Stella’s. With the popularity of the first location, expansion became inevitable and, today, Stella’s operates multiple units in Winnipeg, with plans for further development in Winnipeg and beyond. Stella’s has expanded its menu and number of locations, but has never compromised its core values or commitment to quality.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Busy, but well worth the wait!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food and service was excellent! It is a must if you are in Winnipeg! The location is perfect for shopping after a lovely meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowbirdfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    279
    66
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“*The* place to eat in Winnipeg”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Superb but reasonably priced food and a lively and fun atmosphere. Although the clientèle is young and can be heard speaking multiple languages, this isn't a counterculture hangout. It's expertly run, with excellent service. After I discovered Stella's, I stopped trying to find any other restaurant and ate every meal there, except for breakfast at my hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnbiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,349 helpful votes
“Great Meal, and Very Good Service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went here for dinner. The restaurant wasn't that crowded, and service was efficient and friendly.

We ordered the chicken club and quinoa mushroom burger. The chicken club is stacked on a homemade multigrain bread filled with sunflower seeds and other healthy grains. It is topped with cranberry sauce, lettuce and mayonnaise. The chicken was fresh and sandwich yummy!

The quinoa burger is served on top of a lightly toasted rosemary focaccia bread spread with spicy dijon and mayonnaise. It is then topped with caramelized onion, tomato, arugula, tomato relish, and pickles. It was very good except it falls apart quite easily. It was accompanied with coleslaw and homemade hash browns sprinkled with bits of rosemary.

I would definitely recommend for you to come and try it. It was delicious!

PS - If this review was helpful, please click the "YES" button below. Thanks! :- )

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Service was excellent, the French omelette was c'est bon! Their food is great. I love the bread and jam. I always have yo buy a loaf or two and jam whenever we stop in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank koolieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We happening to be passing by Winnipeg in our canada road trip, and this little restaurant is just great. You gave to try the grilled veggie sandwich just amazing
The service is great even if we did get after 10:30 , a must try

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank victoriaA977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Cafe on Osborne also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Stella's Cafe on Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing