We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, great atmosphere at a great price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Bear Cafe

Lazy Bear Cafe
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food, great atmosphere at a great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The atmosphere of the log lodge and café was especially amazing when we learned that the owners had built and even made the furniture themselves. Great food with great service!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vern_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice little restaurant in the Lazy Bear Lodge. The menu has a nice variety from wings and burgers to musk ox, caribou, and Artic char. The servers are a young bunch with varied backgrounds, they are friendly, and it seems that they are doing more than one job at the lodge. The waiter from Holland also drove the pick-up truck out to the crawler depot to assist the guests. They are a great group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GimmeKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Go even if it is just for the dessert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We at a couple of times at Lazy Bear when we were in Churchill. We were traveling with a polar bear group and they seem to handle "the masses" quite well. All of the food was good and very well received by the group except for the desserts. They were amazing. I think we would all have agreed to eat every meal there just for the fantastic ending. Very nice place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
334 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lazy Bear Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The ambience was great. The log cabin interior fit in quite well in Churchill. The service was outstanding. The young woman who waited on our group was friendly, attentive, and provided outstanding service. The food arrived timely and as ordered. We found this restaurant to be one of the best in Churchill. It was a surprisingly good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best food in Churchill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Churchill for 4 days, so ate at most of the restaurants there. Lazy Bear was hands down the best. Food was very very tasty, fairly priced, good variety. Service was very good, our waiter was very friendly and his service was terrific. Only set back is it is not licensed! Would have been nice to have a drink with dinner. Ambiance is charming!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlover6588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing