We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musk Ox” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Bear Cafe

Lazy Bear Cafe
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Musk Ox”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I decided to try out the Musk Ox and it was pretty tasty. Glad I tried it. Other local options are Caribou and Arctic Char, however you can get regular items like steak, ribs, burgers, etc. Our server Laurens was hilarious and helpful. Good service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“the food supply and presentation was yummie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

the service was excellent, the staff were also very friendly. We as a group went back on a number of times during our stay at Bluesky b and b

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, CA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Disappointed not to get in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We'd heard nothing but enthusiastic praise for the restaurant and the lodge from many people, but on our March visit the place was shut tight and locked up. It sure looked swell from the outside, though, being a huge log structure very picturesquely covered in snow, and I even tried to go up to the door to knock but ended up flunching through a snowdrift nearly to my armpits. Took me a few minutes to struggle out, to the great amusement of my wife. I suppose we should have tried telephoning them to enquire first...maybe next time?...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MojoLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Lazy bear lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

During a recent trip to Churchill to see the Polar Bears we stopped at the Lazy Bear Lodge for dinner. Excited to try the Arctic Char we placed our order. The menu said the Char was prepared with dill and since that is not something I enjoy I asked to have it prepared without dill.
When my meal arrived it was a beautiful piece of Char that resembled Haddock..white and dense but there was a THICK coating of garlic on the fish which spoiled the flavor...I told our waitress I was sorry but I could not eat it with such a heavy coating of garlic.
She seemed understanding and said she would take it back and request it be broiled without garlic
It took about 20 minutes and when she returned she brought a very thin piece ofSALMON!
It was dry and looked awful. The waitress said it was Char, but it was salmon and prepared with nothing at all. I did not send it back ..after all..what would they bring next...but it was the worst Salmon I ever ate. Please understand, I am not in the habit of sending a meal back and I am not a fussy eater.
I would not recommend this restaurant and the mean spirited staff, chefs at the restaurant.
If you still decide to eat at the restaurant..beware..ask about the preparation and be prepared for their wrath if you are unhappy with you meal.
Kathy Moyer from PA

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere , NO ALCOHOL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The lazy bear is probably the place to go for strictly ambiance, My boyfriend and I went there for lunch on our last day and enjoyed it . Skipped it for our evenings out as there is no alcohol served and we enjoy wine with diner.No corkage allowed either .

The food : We went for lunch on our last day and enjoyed our meal we had the appetizer platter which we sound pretty standard - deep fried everything but done right and not greasy , also we shared the chicken wrap which was fresh ( hard to do in the north) and full of flavor . A good off set for appi's . One real shame is they served no northern food over lunch - No muskox stew , cariboo etc We were looking forward to trying their take on the traditional cuisine . My boyfriend had the milkshake which was suggested by the B & B owner it was rich,creamy and chalk full of orea cookie . Very good !

Service: It was ok, a large new tour group had come in 10 minute prior to us so the waitresses were busy trying to keep up

Decor : Hand built by the owner over the course of 10 years . Its amazing .

When i come back on sping for the beluga I will try the evening there until then happy eating :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinawol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing