We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth an hour”

Parks Canada Visitors Centre
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Worth an hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a video and ranger discussion one evening after a full day of polar rover tours and I was disappointed we did not have more time and energy to see this lovely museum. It presents, in a streamlined way, the human history of this part of the Canadian Arctic quite well, and is second on the list of things to see in Churchill after the Eskimo Museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived just as a tour was beginning with a ranger. After showing us around the centre we saw a film about the Wapusk National Park (means White Bear in Cree-one of the 3 indigious tribes). WNP is were you view the polar bears.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank stanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great displays and knowledgeable staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were in the center twice looking for info on the area. The staff knew the place very well and gave out excellent information. They also have a lot of displays to tell you about the local area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great free visitor centre. Lots to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great visitor centre, with lots of information and displays including a theatre where the staff will play any number of free videos for you on northern sights like the northern lights, Inuit and polar bears. Best of all its free. The parks Canada staff are great here, full of information and advice. It's within the train station and definitely a must see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

In the rail station. Park people on duty with good information. Everything is well done. The bear den is very interesting

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parks Canada Visitors Centre also viewed

 

Been to Parks Canada Visitors Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing