We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An official Tundra Buggy® Adventure is the best and safest way to view the majestic polar bear in its natural environment and is an ideal tour option if you are planning your own travel and accommodations in Churchill. Tundra Buggy Day Tours include expert interpretation in the Churchill Wildlife Management Area about the wildlife and the magnificent ecosystems surrounding the subarctic environment of Churchill. You will have the opportunity to explore the open tundra while your driver discusses the effects of tides, currents and ice formation on the polar bear. Wildlife you spot may include polar bears, arctic hare, arctic and red fox, gyrfalcon, ptarmigan and much more. Please note that Tundra Buggy Day Tours take place on a 40-passenger Tundra Buggy® and during peak seasons have a tendency to sell to capacity. We highly recommend booking your Tundra Buggy Day Tour(s) as early as possible.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was lucky enough to be able to have a couple of Tundra Buggy outings this polar bear season. The driver, Neil, was very friendly and knowledgeable, and also a great driver, making it through the snow drifts that had accumulated over the trail.

I managed to get some great polar bear photos and some video. The views of the bear were outstanding. Other wildlife seen were ptarmigan and red and arctic foxes. The weather was extremely cold, i'm talking -30'c with the windchill, but the buggy has a stove and although it got a little chilly with the windows down no one got too cold.

It really was amazing to be out on the tundra, an experience i'll never forget.

3  Thank WildPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, communications & Marketing Coordinator at The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of Tundra Buggy Adventures.

We're glad to hear you had a great experience on the Tundra. Neil has been with us as an employee for several years and we always get lots of compliments on his tours. We'll be sure to pass along the message.

It sounds like you did some great wildlife spotting! Foxes are very hard to find out on the Tundra!

Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent the day in the Tundra Buggy's (10:30 a.m. or so - 5:00 pm) when the sun was going down), we wandered around Churchill and enjoyed the quaint Northern town. we pet the sled dogs and shopped in the souvenir stores. The sun set on an absolutely fantastic day. I'm not sure if all polar bear safari's are this successful or if it was the fact that we caught the perfect time for the polar bear migration but I suspected that we would see a lot of bears when driving to the tundra buggy's in the yellow school bus (which had a gun mounted over the drivers seat) we saw a polar bear in town! We saw probably 15-20 bears including a Mom & her cub, an Arctic & a Red Fox. Our driver was an excellent guide as well. We requested the vegetarian meal which we never received on the buggy or the flight but when you have such an incredible experience that just seemed so trivial. It is a long day we were up at 4:00 a.m. to catch a 2 hour flight from Edmonton, alberta to Churchill & we flew back the same day. It is an enjoyably exhausting venture. It can be incredibly cold (-20C) when the windows are down for pictures, yet the flame stove keeps the buggy's roasting warm the rest of the time. We have been on African & Gorilla safari's and this uniquely Canadian experience was world class. It is expensive (a day costs what it would have for a week at an all inclusive) yet we are so happy that we experienced this and our only regret is that it may be our only opportunity to see the bears. It was a long and thoroughly enjoyable experience. We had so much fun & would highly recommend it to anyone

3  Thank CMacDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Marketing Coordinator at The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a great experience! Arctic and Red foxes are very elusive, so it's great to hear that you saw both. Also, we are seeing fewer moms and cubs at the coast so it's quite a treat that you had a chance to see them as well.

We're sorry to hear there was a mix up with your request for a vegetarian meal, but we're glad that everything else worked out so well. We definitely do try our best to ensure all our guests dietary needs are met, but some do slip through the cracks. We'll make a note to improve our communication in this area.

Thank you again for traveling with Tundra Buggy Adventures and we hope that you have a chance to visit us in the future again!

Tundra Buggy Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We did the Classic Canadian Tour one day polar bear safari from Calgary. You fly into Churchill and are taken to the Tundra Buggy Adventures departure point. We arrived late so stayed on the tundra until the sunset. We had 8 sightings of bears, two were very close and a third walked around and under the buggy. Also saw a gyr falcon who was chasing snow buntings. We were accompanied by a guest naturalist on our buggy but the driver was also very knowledgeable as well as entertaining.

As other reviews have noted, you get three meals; two on the plane and lunch on the buggy.

Dress warmly, in layers to allow you to adjust for the plane and bus ride to the tundra, which will be warm but on the buggy, it will get cold even if you don't stand outside because the windows will open and people will be wanting to take photos for as long as the bears are nearby.

1  Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Marketing Coordinator at The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks so much for your review! It sounds that you had some great up-close wildlife experiences. You are absolutely right about dressing in layers - the buggies are heated but once the bears are close the windows go down for guests to start snapping pictures!

We hope that we can host you again in the future!

Tundra Buggy Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We departed Edmonton around 06:00h and arrived Churchill around 09:30h on 20 October 2012. It was to be a one-day adventure. The flight was fast and comfortable (B737). Breakfast was less than expected but hearty. Upon arrival we were bussed to the "Buggys". During about 7 hrs on the edge of Hudson Bay, we saw 2 female polar bears, an artic hare, a showy owl, many snow buntings (aka snowirds), and a covy of willow ptarmigan. Most point and shoot camera are adaquate as we were close to most animals. Things to know: wear layers and bring a wool hat and warm gloves. The conveyances are heated but chilling can occur when the windows are opened for long periods for photographing. Bring sunglasses. The ride is bumpy but motion sickness is not a problem. All other meals and snacks were fine. The guide was exceptional and Classic Canadian Tours, our host, was excellent. If I was wealthy, I would be on the 11 November 2012 tour as we love the trip. Lastly, visit the "Northern Images" store for lastling mementos as most other souvenir shops in Churchill not of that caliber.

2  Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of Tundra Buggy Adventures.

We've worked with Canadian Classic Tours for many years and are very glad to be affiliated with such an excellent company.

We're glad to hear you had a great Tundra Buggy tour - arctic hares and snowy owls are common in the area but often tough to find.

Thanks again and we hope you can make it up to Churchill again soon to visit the bears!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We got a late discount at the office, and saved $200. There was only 8 of us on a 40 person tundra buggy. The trip lasted all day about 8 hours and the driver was very informative and loved answering the questions. We went right out ,into the tundra and observed wild polar bears waiting of or the ice to form on Hudson Bay. It was like an Attenborough documentary. Not only the bears, but many other species of rare wildlife and flora. Took hundreds of pictures and video. Others do the same trip in churchill. You are best looking for the best price.

Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Marketing Coordinator at The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi Blueboybrian!

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your Tundra Buggy Adventure. We take pride in the fact that our drivers are well-versed in all things Churchill and that they love to share the knowledge they have. It sounds like you had a great experience and we hope to host you again one day!

Tundra Buggy Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Tundra Buggy Adventure - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing