We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Sledding - fantastic”
Review of Bluesky Bed & Sled

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluesky Bed & Sled
Ranked #1 of 9 Churchill B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were offered dog sledding as part of our adventure at the Churchill Northern Studies Centre. What a wonderful experience. Never thought I would ever go dog sledding, now I want to go again and again. It was so peaceful, except for the dogs barking from time to time, but they are LOVING it. These dogs live to run. It was truly incredible. The owners treat their dogs so well and they are all part of their "family". If you find yourself in Churchill during the winter, this is a must do.

Room Tip: This was simply for the dog sledding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hosts at Bluesky Bed & Sled are passionate about what they do! They made our birthday celebration visit to Churchill very memorable! From the moment Gerald picked us up at the airport and took us on "a little drive to see some polar bears" to the ride back to the airport 3 days later with Jen we were welcomed with warmth and hospitality! Jennifor's "polar bear pancakes" with home ground wheat were delicious and she is the queen of berry bannock! I'm sure Jen can make bannock in her sleep while Gerald looks after a pack of amazing sled dogs in his sleep! Actually, they are so dedicated to the dogs they sleep with them. The sled dog rides and the "tent" are not to be missed when you visit Bluesky. The heating blankets on the beds make for a cozy sleep and Jen kindly lent me a hot water bottle when I pulled a muscle. The only drawback was having to share a bathroom, which was a surprise but was a minor inconvenience. Gramma was delightful and loves to mix and mingle with the "redneck clowns" who show up at Halloween!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontheroadagain006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

we have stayed at many B&B's, this was absolute best. Hosts Jenafor and Gerald did much more than was expected to make our vacation memorable and fun. You are in for a great experience at the Bluesky Bed & Sled

Pat and Bill Haste
Raleigh Durham
North Carolina

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arrived in Churchill on Feb 21st excited about our adventurous trip to see the Aurora Borealis, and departed on the 25th sad that we were leaving such good friends behind. Jen and Gerald, through hard and intelligent effort, give you the appearance that they were born to be quality B&B hosts, and perhaps they were. In the limited amount of space this venue allows I am hard pressed to tell you the joy we experienced staying with them in their beautiful, neat, clean and welcoming home. A different, delicious breakfast every morning; a dog sled ride (select the 15 miler for full effect) that was a culturally eye opening experience; visiting the well-appointed dog yard with individual homes for each valued and loved sled dog; Gerald (on our last night as their guests) telling us to hop in the truck because the Northern Lights have FINALLY arrived to bid us farewell. We of course hop in and Gerald and Jen take the time late at night to truck us out to the dog yard in -40 F wind chill just so we could accomplish our goal of seeing the Lights. Jen takes her camera and tripod and while Gerald takes care of his well cared for sled dogs, she stands with us in the cold taking our picture under the flowing curtains of God's light show so we had Canadian beauty to take home and share with our friends. Flowing, rippling, curving lights from horizon to horizon. When I sat down to write this view, as my wife happily works on her picture log of our trip, I miss our friends and wonder what they are doing right now. If you have the good fortune to visit Churchill, be it for the Lights, the Beluga whales, the rare birds or to scare yourself with a polar bear, follow our good fortune and select Bluesky Bed & Sled as your lodging. Make new friends.

Room Tip: Ask Jen, she'll hook you up with the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Gerald and Jenafor's hospitality was just incredible! We stayed 3 nights and felt like we were the house guests of friends, not customers at a B&B. Gerald met our flight at the airport – he arrived before I even had time to find a phone and call. The evening we arrived, they invited us to join them for dinner at the only open restaurant (it's January, their slow season). On our way to dinner, we saw the northern lights shimmering in the sky, so after dinner they took us out of town to their dog yard with a heated tent to watch “the lights”. (Don't let the word “tent” fool you. Yes, the roof is fabric, but it's a comfortably furnished 20 x 30 room, complete with hot beverages and snacks.) We spent 2 1/2 hours watching the lights and running inside to get warm. Jenafor is quite the photographer – she took many time exposures of the display, including a few of us watching the sky, and gave us copies of everything.

We also enjoyed a 15 mile dogsled ride with Gerald driving and Jenafor running ahead on a snowmobile to take even more pictures. A word of advice – even though you brought your warmest winter clothing, accept the offer to use theirs! We were comfortable throughout our ride in 10 below (Fahrenheit) weather – a heat wave according to Gerald.

Other reviewers have raved about the house and the hosts. Suffice it to say, it's all true. Our room was comfortable and the two full shared baths were enough for the 5 guests and the hosts. The schedule was very relaxed (unlike during bear season). We spent our evenings sharing conversation and pictures with Gerald, Jenafor, and the other guests. We even shared a potluck dinner with them one evening. Jenafor is an excellent cook. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. She also grinds her own flour and bakes her own bread. There were always cookies or other snacks available. On the last day of our stay, Gerald drove us and two other guests to the railroad station.

Others have said this and we completely agree – having been their guests we will never stay anywhere else in Churchill.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Retired-n-LovinIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I visited Church in Mid November, 2011, and one of my wants was to take a dog sled ride.
Well, what an afternoon, the sun was out but it was so cold. Picked up on time, and travelled to the site where all the excitement was to commence. Made so welcome by Jenifor and Gerald, what better hosts could one want. Their loveable dogs were raring to go. so was i.
All rugged up and off we went. Adam was driving the team of eight, with Gerald ready to assist. It was fun, and just to watch the dogs run along the track was unbelieveable. They knew the ropes and they were having fun also. The hospitality shown by these two wonderful people was so overpowering, and bought tears to my eyes when it was time to leave. People this afternoon, was fantastic, I highly recommend this attraction, and of course stay at their Bed and Breakfast facility. You never know what you may see. TRY IT. FUN FUN.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a great stay with Gerald and Jenifor and there extended family of dogs and other guests.The room we had was personalised and very comfortable.Great breakfasts man can she cook up a treat.While we were there they woke us up about 11 pm one night to witness the Northern Lights above.If you stay ed at the local hotels i doubt wether you would get that kind of service.However ,THE TEA WAS CRAP just joking but Jenifor will know what that means.A great adventure and we will go back one day soon.Seen lots of bears and we also did the dog sleding with Gerald fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustraliaKerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Churchill hotels
0.8 mi away
Bear Country Inn
Bear Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Churchill
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Churchill Hotel & Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Tundra Inn
Tundra Inn
#1 of 5 in Churchill
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesky Bed & Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Bed & Sled

Address: 100 Button Street, Churchill, Manitoba, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World renowned Musher Gerald Azure owns and operates this coveniently located B&B on the edge of the Tundra within the Town of Churchill. Breakfast include fresh ground Manitoba wheat and tundra berries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluesky Bed & Sled Churchill, Canada - Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing