We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #30 of 134 Restaurants in Brandon
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In July of 1994, Applebee's Neighbourhood Bar and Grill opened their first restaurant outside of the United States in Winnipeg,Manitoba now known as our Pembina location. Since then Applebee`s has grown to 16 restaurants in Canada and Applebee`s has expanded internationally to 150 restaurants in 20 countries. Applebee's is now the world's largest Casual Dining chain with 2000 restuarants. Applebee's is known for their fun and family-friendly neighbourhood atmosphere along with signature grill & bar menu items that guests can only get at Applebee's. 13 of the 16 Applebee`s are owned by Dynapple Management Corp. These 13 restaurants are located in Calgary AB, Regina SK, Winnipeg and Brandon MB, Windsor, Ajax, Barrie and Cambridge ON. The key to our growth is our continued focus on maintaining quality operations and our involvement in the local communities. Dynapple Management Corp places customer service and community commitment our top priorities. We provide local jobs and participate in community activities such as school fundraisers, child identity programs, special character days, and holiday events. These activities serve the people in the local community. Dynapple Management Corp is dedicated to providing their communities with great restaurants that feature a clean, safe, family atmosphere.
Regina SK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

As good as any Applebee's we've been in, better than some ... one steak was overcooked, they immediately offered to take it back & do a different one, then the manager came to apologize ... all very cheerfully taken care of ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDriver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    22
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Unionville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a large group and they found us a nice spot and were good to the kids. Food was great. Close walking distance to the CanadInn and Keystone Center.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trina42775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“How's your food?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The food was okay, but our server would come back every 5-10 minutes to check on something. Was there with a business client late at night, and she would ask everything she could - we just wanted her to go away. Besides that it was great, try the dessert shots!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 98Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good tasting food but not for the health-conscious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have eaten at this Applebee's a few times. There is a nice variety of flavours that come together in this one restaurant. Some of the southwest food is a nice treat that is not easy to find elsewhere. The place is always busy so I guess that implies that people like it. The atmosphere is upbeat but the service can be very slow if it's busy.

While waiting for our orders to come my son pulled out his smart phone and looked up the nutrition information for the meals we had ordered. WOW, if most of us knew what we were eating. Many of the meals exceeded the total daily allowance of sodium, calories and fat! That doesn't stop me from eating there once in awhile but be aware that the food can be extremely calorie-laden.

Most dishes served to our table were enjoyed and found to be excellent. But personally I was disappointed in the ribs, a house specialty. I have had ribs at other Applebee's, mainly in the southern U.S., and I found that the ones served here were inferior - smaller, tougher and with less flavour. Maybe that was a one-time issue.

Another oddity about Applebee's - the serving staff never seem to know what the exact price of the alcoholic drinks is. I had answers like "it should be around $6.00" or "I'm not sure, I would have to go and check". I don't know what's with that but the menus are not clear about price and the servers are less so.

None-the-less, Applebee's offers a menu and atmosphere that sometimes hits the mark and I will continue to go there when the mood strikes. The prices are quite reasonable, especially if you can order from the limited 2-for-$25 menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been to Applebee's in other cities and it was always good but Brandon's location wasn't up to par, the food was cold and the service was, well there was no service and when the waitress did come by she was wearing dirty cloths that looked like they hadn't been washed in a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leight-ann181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing