We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dining option in Brandon”

Blu Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Brandon
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice dining option in Brandon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first time at this recently opened restaurant in Brandon. Atmosphere is nice, similar to an Earl's or The Keg. Menu has many different options that sets them apart from its competitors in Brandon. Service was good, no issues at all with that side of things. Our only real complaint was price, two of us dined for $90 + tip. This included one glass of wine and a non alcoholic beverage. We shared an appetizer and a desert. Food quality was good, although the appetizer (nacho's) were very salty. My wife loved the whiskey sage ravioli. Although I would probably chose The Keg over this restaurant, I will go back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Habscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    56
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamiota, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy and wonderful menu options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a lovely lunch today and soups were heavenly and very generous portions. Price is appropriate for the classy ambience and decor and a welcome option for Brandon. Servers were most accommodating and really understand what good customer service should be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A creativte menu with uneven execution and a price gouging menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Blu is a welcome addition to Brandon. The decor and menu would be at home in a much larger center. Vegetarian options are available. Presentation is at times creative, however at our table food quality was uneven. The Ahi Tuna which the menu promised medium rare arrived medium well, the chicken dish was well prepared and seasoned, but some portion were just downright small for the price. Prices are certainly on the high side, not just for Brandon but for Toronto. I have paid less for a draft beer in Pearson International than here. Same goes for the mains, count on a premium of 25 to 50% on the menu over comparable places in larger centers. At these prices you really should not be getting higher end service and food preparation. You can do better than Blu and if something does not change quickly this restaurant will not attract repeat customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesonwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onanole, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful place,good service ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

They have done a great job of remodeling this restaurant.I did however find it a little dark in certain spots in the restaurant.This is probably the priciest lunch menu in town.I didn't think I would pay seventeen dollars for a salad but I did.The salad wasn't huge but adequate ,the shrimp on it were cooked perfectly and it was very tasty.We also had the Ahi Tuna burger which came with overcooked dried out and barely warm shoestring fries.The big bun was way too much for the tuna.The tuna was a generous portion and was cooked properly but it should have been warm on the outside and rare on the inside.It was cold.the coconut soup I sampled was very good.The menu seemed to have good variety to it but they have to shape up some on the finished product.I will go back to give it one more try ,possibly for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The atmosphere was nice and apps were delicious. The servers were friendly. All steaks at the table, however, were not cooked properly. You can't expect to compete with The Keg when you don't know how to cook a steak. Additionally, the cuts of steak were not the best quality. Prices are higher, but wouldn't be ridiculous if the quality was there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B-dot_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blu Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing