We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant Where You'd Least Expect It.”
Review of Albert's Bistro

Albert's Bistro
Ranked #12 of 135 Restaurants in Brandon
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Behind Lakeview Hotel. Best little restaurant offering Greek Food, Pizza, Seafood, Prime Rib (to die for)
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Where You'd Least Expect It.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This family-owned restaurant works hard to make sure your experience is a good one. We were here for New Years and loved the staff, food and quaint atmosphere. Several of the food selections are Greek or Greek influenced.

When we placed our drink order, we asked for the "Albert's" sized portion (2 ounces of liquor, versus 1 ounce in the regular size). Having a choice of value was nice. We drank their version of a Long Island Iced Tea. It was interesting. It did not taste like tea at all, but it was tasty.

Since it was late, we did not order a big meal. We each had a bowl of their special potato soup. Enjoying anything homemade is better than canned every time. The soup was creamy, tasty and had a nice flavor.

Our waitress was quite new. She was very polite and still learning her job. She did a great job and was not afraid to ask questions of her co-workers to assist us. She was wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seawind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    21
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Russell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“If you love Prime Rib...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great hidden gem...book ahead at the busy times
Wonderful service and meals that won't leave you hungry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“highway side food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Better than the chain fast food options but pretty prairie bland.

Had the prime rib, came bone in huge cut but had canned gravy all over it, scrapped it off to find the rib well done and dried out on the edges. Lemon potatoes were big chunks but had no flavour except for the canned gravy again.

The five of us sent back half eaten dishes at the end of the meal and I noted no one wanted any of it packed up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Albert's is an unassuming little place. It look's like a little diner, but is the same great food that the chef used to serve at his previous, larger establishment. The prime rib has always been wonderful when I've had it, but most times I yield to temptation and get the Greek sampler meal: souvlaki, moussaka, dolmades, panakopita, rice. I usually can't finish it, but I try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
559 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice place, but nothing too special.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Chose Albert's based on recommendations by friends. We arrived at 5pm on a Tuesday to find out that the place was fully reserved as of 6pm. but there was a table that would accommodate us if we could eat within the hour.
Restaurant is small and quaint, more diner than bristo. Service was fine, punctual and okay, but not particularly personable, however in listening to the other booths that filled up around us, it was clear that this place is a local favorite for many people.
French Onion soup was great. Side of Caesar salad was good,lettuce very fresh, but not spectacular.
Husband had the Rib and shrimp special. Ribs very tender, but could have used more seasoning/sauce. Shrimp were good but bland, for those that prefer more highly seasoned food. Portions were extremely good, as neither of us were able to finish what was on our plates!
Good home-style meals, but not all we'd anticipated based on the recommendations others had provided,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Albert's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing