We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good service, food ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert's Bistro

Albert's Bistro
Ranked #15 of 134 Restaurants in Brandon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Behind Lakeview Hotel. Best little restaurant offering Greek Food, Pizza, Seafood, Prime Rib (to die for)
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not very good service, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We passed through Brandon between the lunch and dinner hour, ~4:00. We stopped there, and when I asked for a table, the waitress went to a table, put down some menus and walked away without saying a word. I don't think she was busy, as there was just one single man there drinking coffee. I thought that was fairly rude. There was a pretty strong chemical type smell in there, which I figured out later may have been her "perfume" of some kind. Pretty unpleasant. The green salad was iceberg lettuce on a plate with a wedge of tomato, and exactly 2 cucumber slices. The prime rib was good, but the Yorkshire pudding inedible. The kids had grilled cheese and enjoyed them. I had the spanikopita. It tasted ok, but seemed reheated in a microwave. Both mine and my husband's baked potato were underdone. We didn't complain about anything as we were in a hurry to get going, but I wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Prime Rib”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by hotel staff where we were staying... small but cozy. We ordered the queen prime rib which was the feature of the day and were disappointed to say the least...very chewy and hard to eat. The potatoes which were cooked "Greek" style were unseasoned and lacked flavor. When asked I did express my disappointment and was offered something else from the kitchen which I declined. We were given a $20 voucher for next time but travelling so...gave it to the hotel clerk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great steak, Great Food in Brandon, MB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was told of this place by a local. Albert's moves around. Near the Super 8, Behind an Inn and a Subway, next to a large Mini-Putt. Quaint location - yet this place is a little gem! Food and service were great. Known for the Prime-Rib. Had a queen cut - too much, I should have had the Princess cut. Food did not go to waste.

Try it out - very, very good.

CE from YYC

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Come for the Prime Rib!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautifully done Prime Rib, with a generous cut!

Service was outstanding and very friendly.

Next time I'm passing through Brandon, I'm stopping again, just to have my fill!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DigitalCameraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Best restaurant in Brandon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I go there often and have tried many of the menu items. They've all been excellent. Home-made soups, fantastic prime rib, great Greek specialties. All very moderately priced. The only downside is the ambience - the restaurant is small and crowded and very brightly lit. But if you want good food, this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Albert's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing