We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go anywhere else, FAST!!!”
Review of Redwood Motor Inn

Redwood Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redwood Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Brandon
Reviewed September 8, 2013

By far the worst place we've ever ( almost) stayed. Thought it was an abandoned building when we drove up. Pool was down, hot tub was down room was dirty, pillows were stained. Went for dinner then got our luggage and left. Went up the street to a major hotel, well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Run, anywhere but here!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dennistessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMredwood, Manager at Redwood Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for comment us, we try to change what we missed point to care our valued customers opinions.

Recently, We replaced amenities and Rate, also management team too. if you have any unpleasant staying with us. Please let me know I will take of it.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is a dive , between the lack of housekeeping ( broken glass on floor ) tenant 2 rooms down urinating in his doorway, unclean washroom,( no toilet) paper .... By far the worst motel of the 7 on our trip. Had our three children with us, I guess we should have read all the previous bad reviews. The woman at the desk was nice, and forwarded our complaint to the manager , who in turn approached my wife in the breakfast room and handed her a $20 refund. We could care less about the $ , it's too bad because this could be a nice motel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMredwood, Manager at Redwood Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for let us know what was feeling on you staying with us.

We are regret missed the points what we have to care for our valued customers opinion.
Recently, we try to change Rate and furniture and even the management team too.
Hopefully, This efforts are working well to our customer for their comfortable staying with us.

if there is any unpleasant issue, please let me know I will take care of it.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here while making a fast trip to Manitoba. It was a great place for a lone woman to stay with entrance from an interior door. Breakfast was not the greatest but they had lots to chose from. And their inside swimming pool was really nice and refreshing. The little workout area was ok. The location was great with a Wal Mart right down the road.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Deluxe bedroom and it was stocked with a small fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family & I stayed at this motel for 2 nights. First impressions of our room was that it smelled very old and musty. We had to go to a store to get an air freshener so the room wouldn't smell bad. The furniture reminded me of old 2nd hand furniture. The room consisted of a queen size bed which was surprisingly comfortable and a pull out couch that I think was broken. All fixtures are original (old). The tv was new as it was a flat screen (small) and the tub/shower was newer but had no plug for a bath. The soap provided was no bigger than a toonie. The locks for the outside door and inside door were chain locks only. The lock on the door handle was broken. The towels provided were old blue thin towels. On the positive side the continental breakfast provided was good, but very limited. Hot and cold cereal, toast, make your own waffles and different juices and fresh fruit. This motel needs alot of TLC....If the owners are reading this, they need to renovate badly, othewise I don't know how much longer they can stay in business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cougar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at the Redwood with my wife since the rest of our family decided to stay there too for a function we were all attending. Here's an overview of the good and the bad sides of the Redwood:

GOOD

-Location is not bad, on 18th Street fairly close to downtown Brandon, the Trans-Canada Highway and the various stores and attractions on the north side. (This could be a problem if you need to be in the south side, though)

-In a city where room rates are very high, the Redwood's prices are decent - about $80 to $100 on average, from what I could tell.

-Plentiful free parking

-Good selection of TV channels

-Free coffee and cereal (not quite what I'd call a "continental breakfast", but whatever)

-Beds were pretty comfortable

-There were a couple of computers set up off the lobby and the place advertises free Wi-Fi (which I didn't use so I can't vouch for)

BAD

-Poorly maintained property with a number of things left damaged and unrepaired

-Some of the worst towels I have ever seen in a hotel room. Seriously, you can buy cheap hotel towels by the bushel and they would be an improvement over these rags. This would not be a big deal if the room were $40 a night, but at double that rate (which is what we paid) I would think the owners could part with a few bucks and provide some decent towels and toiletries.

-An overall dingy and shabby feel that you simply would not expect at this price. The owners clearly try to go the extra mile with wi-fi, a continental breakfast, a hot tub and some other frills, but they fail to deliver on the fundamentals.

Unless price is a major stumbling block, I'd say shell out the few extra dollars and go for a better hotel. Normally I'm fine with the cheaper alternative, but the Redwood is not cheap and still doesn't really manage to deliver a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrolman_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Smoke detectors have batteries put in backwards to keep them from going off since the steam from showers set them off. Old, worn out, thick dirt in corners, all around bad place to stay. For $69 night I expected better than this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This place is so gross words cannot express ! Dirty run down rooms , old worn stained towels , uncomfortable beds and a general feeling of EW ! I will never stay here again ! gross , gross , gross ......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanciann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brandon hotels
1.9 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#12 of 15 in Brandon
49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Brandon
Comfort Inn Brandon
#8 of 15 in Brandon
153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Brandon
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandon Inn
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Suites
Clarion Hotel & Suites
#7 of 15 in Brandon
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Motor Inn

Address: 345 18th St, Brandon, Manitoba R7A 5A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Highway No#1, this Brandon motel provides breakfast and free Wi-Fi. A refrigerator and a microwave are included in all guest rooms. Brandon city centre is 2 km away.A cable TV and a sofa are provided in each queen room at Redwood Motor Inn. A work desk and free local calls are also included. Select guest rooms offer a hot plate or full kitchen facilities.A 24-hour reception greets guests of Motor Inn Redwood. A guest launderette and cold-weather plug-ins are available to all guests.Wheat City Golf Course is 7 minutes’ drive away. Walmart department store is 1 km from Redwood Motor Inn. Beer vendor is onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Redwood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Motor Hotel Brandon
Redwood Hotel Brandon
Redwood Motor Inn Brandon, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing