We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the wilderness..”
Review of Pinewood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Lodge
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis in the wilderness..”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

When we arrived at Pinewood Lodge we were pleasantly surprised to see some deer in the adjacent, forested area beside the parking lot.
We arrived on May 1 for a much needed get away. The reception was warm and welcoming- very helpful. Our room was spectacular- we were in a corner luxury suite-the view was breathtaking- one window overlooked Dorothy Lake and the other faced the parking lot- forest area- The deer were there every day.
In our suite- we had a full kitchen, gas fireplace, 2 person jacuzzi tub, living room area, separate bedrooom area, lots of closet and storage space.
This lodge was obviously built to last- beautiful, massive wood beams- with a rustic splendour.
Pinewood Lodge is both a wilderness sanctuary and a spa retreat in Whiteshell Provincial Park. It is right in the middle of the North Whiteshell Trans Canada Trail-great opportunities for
hiking and wildlife sightings- we saw a beautiful fox on the trail.
The spa area had a salt water pool, salt water jacuzzi, steam sauna and exercise room-which was such a treat- both soothing and invigorating.There were floor to ceiling windows- which offered a great view of the outdoors.
They don't have a dining room but you can order from their room service menu- we had a delicious freshly made (on site) pizza.
We had a great continental breakfast-lots of choices-
They have a great gift shop- anything from bathing suits to butter- lots of fishing gear etc
This is one of the nicest places in the Whiteshell
Needless to say- we will return- again and again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7heartsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to send us very encouraging compliments! Over the years, we've listened to guest feedback have responded by stocking our store with almost any item you'd need and growing our continental breakfast selection. We try to warmly welcome every guest to start your getaway the 'right way'. We look forward to your phone call letting us know when you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
32
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I just got home from an Excellent extra long weekend getaway with my guy and have to say we are Very Glad we stayed at Pinewood Lodge! We arrived on Sunday Afternoon and ended up having the Whole Place to ourselves for the 3 days we were there :) The owners and staff were very pleasant and the Lodge and rooms were CLEAN and TIDY!! If we asked for or needed anything it was dealt with in a good and timely fashion!! We will be back to enjoy the Lodge and possibly get a Chalet to try out one time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your great comments! Yes, if you do have the flexibility to stay with us midweek, it usually is very quiet AND we are able to wait on you 'hand-and-foot'! It certainly was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have traveled extensively for business, and the Pinewood Lodge is in a category of it's own. The rooms are sumptuous, the surroundings are breathtaking, and above all, the service is nothing short of remarkable. To say that they go above and beyond does not do it justice. You are not treated as if you are a guest at their hotel, you are treated as if you are a guest at their home. The Pinewood Lodge would be my first choice for either business travel or for a family getaway. I look forward to visiting there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us your feedback. We always hope you will think of us as your 'home away from home' when you're on business travel, espcially if you run into any problems when you're out here. Jeff's a pretty handy guy and is always on call if you ever run into difficulties! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

For the past 10 years, Pinewood has been my destination of choice whenever I've been fortunate enough to leave the city and enjoy a relaxing getaway in the Whiteshell. Ten years later, I can honestly say that I have yet to find another resort in the area that offers familes & couples alike such a perfect combination of beautiful scenery and accomodations that are sure to exceed ones expectations. The staff at the lodge are warm and accomodating, and go out of their way to ensure that each and every guest has everything that they need in order to enjoy their stay to the very fullest. Whether you left your ketchup at home on the kithcen counter, or you're unsure as to which hiking trail offers the best scenery, Raquel and the staff are always more than happy to assist. As for the accomodations, both the chalets and the hotel suites are always very clean, cozy and welcoming, and the personal touches that are included are sure to make you feel very much at home. During our recent stay over the New Year's Eve weekend, we were pleasantly surprised to find a fully decorated Christmas tree inside of our chalet along with some other pretty decorations. If that wasn't enough, all of the guests were also treated to an amazing fireworks display at midnight out by the pond on New Year's Eve. It's the thoughtful little touches such as these that put Pinewood a "step above the rest". If you are searching or the perfect "getaway from the everyday", you need look no further...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetlilmousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments! We have always strived to welcome our guests as though they were family coming for a visit.....need a little bit of ketchup? No worries - we have some! Thank you once again - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We first stayed at Pinewood in Jan. 2012 for a get-together with our extended family. Our kids talked so much about the fun they had, that we decided to book a post-Christmas stay as a surprise. We had a great time again. This year we were in an executive spa suite and with five of us it worth the expense for the extra space and full kitchen. We brought food for meals, but had dinner from the room service menu twice and everything was very good. The store is well-stocked and we really didn't have to pack as much as we thought. We enjoyed the pool, sliding hill, and skating rink. Each of our kids, ages 10, 5, and 3, had fun and Pinewood is an easy place to be with little ones. Going to the pool or for breakfast, or any of it, isn't a big excursion which is such a plus when you have little ones. Most people even go the breakfast room in their p.j.'s. We have told several friends about Pinewood and will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: It was worth the extra money for the executive suite. For a family of five, the extra space and ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! As we have 3 children of our own that have grown up here, we try to make it welcoming and fun for all ages! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Me and my wife like to get a cabin every year for our anniversary. This year it was Chalet #3 at Pinewood Lodge.The afternoon we arrived was very windy and the waves were crashing on the shore. It was an amazing way to start the getaway. A short boardwalk trail led us to the cabin that is located right in front of beautiful Lake Dorothy. Two bedrooms, one on the main floor which serves as the guest room and up a gorgeous tree spiral staircase is a loft with a small tv and two person jet tub. The chalet also has a steam shower, faux gas fireplace, 32" plasma in the living room, stereo, doors that lead to a deck that faces the lake with a BBQ. Everything was very clean and inviting. The first morning we woke up to a heavy fog on the lake which you can see from your bed upstairs thanks to the tall windows on the lakeside of the cabin. It was quite breathtaking. The lodge is right across the street so if you need anything, they have a store there that has basically anything you might have forgotten including movie rentals. Access to the Lodge pool was a nice touch. It's a small pool but the area is nice. There's also a hot tub and sauna as well as an exercise room upstairs. Whiteshell itself is an amazing place. It's huge and the things to do are endless. We enjoy camping in Whiteshell almost every year but the Pinewood Lodge is a nice treat! The only thing that would have made the stay better is if the fireplace was real.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to mention us on Trip Advisor, and especially for the positive comments. We really appreciated having you stay with us and hope you'll be able to return to rejuvenate the soul very soon!
Raquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We loved the Pinewood Lodge! We visited the Whiteshell from Minnesota. Before we chose the Pinewood Lodge we researched different lodges & cabins in the Whiteshell online. We decided that Pinewood looked the best online... and we were right!

We were greeted with a warm smile from the owner. She gave us suggestions of what to do and see while staying in the Whiteshell, and told us some of the best spots to check out. Not only was the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, but the Lodge itself was beautiful! The pinewood decor made the Lodge feel rustic but it had all the amenities we needed for a 3-day stay. Our room was very clean and having a small kitchenette was great. There was a store with everything you could need, including groceries, and they offered a lot of conveniences for their guests, such as grills, kayaks and canoes. Plus, the continental breakfast was very generous!

We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone that visits Whiteshell Provincial Park!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stef W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments and encouraging words! We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manitoba hotels
6.0 mi away
Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre
14.6 mi away
Eagle Nest Lodge
Eagle Nest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Eagle Nest Lake
25 reviews
19.7 mi away
Moon Gate Bed & Breakfast
Moon Gate Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Whitemouth
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 mi away
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
188.2 mi away
Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Minnedosa
4 reviews
166.1 mi away
Westway Inn
Westway Inn
#1 of 1 in Neepawa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Property: Pinewood Lodge
Address: Block 2, Lot A | Dorothy Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Manitoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Lodge features lakefront chalets & poolside suites on Dorothy Lake in Manitoba's Whiteshell Provincial Park. Chalets have loft bedrooms, whirlpool tubs, full kitchens. Suites range from deluxe to luxury spa. All guests enjoy the indoor salt water pool, hot tub, steam room & fitness area. Complimentary canoes, kayaks, bikes, & snowshoes for guests. Visitors marvel in awe at unique wood carvings, log staircases & stonework. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing