We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imaginative food in comfortable, classy surroundings”
Review of Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vidal
Description: Welcome to Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar, a tradition on the beach in White Rock since 2004. While you might know us for our rich heritage of original coastal cuisine, we’d like our guests to know that Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar is our vision of what great fresh food can be when served in a fun, friendly & refreshingly casual atmosphere. No tablecloths here and no pretentions; heck pants & shoes are optional but shorts & flip flops are mandatory. We are all about sharing truly great oysters, seafood and good times amongst friends & family. Together with the mad skills and crazy energy of Chef Lukas Exelby we’ve created what we feel is the best and most unique oyster bar in the city. Please join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and some appies with $4 beers on the deck, or saddle up to the Oyster Bar and get shucked. You won’t be disappointed at what you find.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Imaginative food in comfortable, classy surroundings”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pearl Urban Bistro is a welcome oasis in White Rock's strip of pubs and fish and chips places.

We had a wonderful, relaxed lunch on a foggy winter day. The open-face salmon sandwich was perfectly cooked with nice-sized piece of fish resting on a bun with pickled cabbage, accompanied by hand-cut fries. I've had salmon sandwiches in several places on both sides of the border and this was the best. The crab sandwich, also open-face, was equally tasty.

The server was kind enough to give me a taste of the Argentine chardonnay by the glass before I ordered. It was nicely unoaked and more than acceptable.

The apple galette was a bit of an indulgence for dessert, but very welcome.

Service was warm and efficient but unobtrusive. Prices were quite fair for the quality of cuisine. We will definitely be back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    47
    14
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed yet again”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My first requirement for a restaurant is ambience and the Pearl has it. BUT,
The last 2 times I've brought important guests to this restaurant, I've been embarrrassed.
We ordered several items and only a couple were good.
Salad had no taste from the dressing, chai brûlée should have not have been served to public, galette was all pastry with few apples and so on. Based on the decor and pricing the chef should be thoroughly trained before left to run a kitchen. The clincher was the kalamari, it was rubbery and dry /over cooked. We asked our waitress to take it back yet still charged my guest. Embarrassing on too many levels. Im sorry to say, I won't be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Guest1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, okay food not special nor creative”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very rainy evnIng so they let us park in the back and enter through the kitchen. The messiness of the kitchen was a bit off putting.
We were celebrating an anniversary so wanted something special. Burgers and
a Mac & Cheese on the dinner menus did not feel special. I had the ribs, my husband had the seared salmon. For a place that serves hamburgers for dinner the wine list is way overpriced. The ribs were ordinary and when I inquired what happened to the sautéed red cabbage which I could not find on my plate the waitress came back with the answer that there was only a garnish? Salmon was burned on the edges. Considering that there were only two other tables we thought more attention could have bee paid to the cooking. For dessert I had creme brûlée which was very ordinary. Is there such a thing as frozen creme brûlée? That the best they could do?
Waitress was courteous and helpful but not particularly attentive. Lots of chatting at the back
Not worth a drive from Vancouver. The view is fantastic, maybe one of the few places where you get a view from the inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This at one time was a very romantic restaurant with white table cloths and set up as a romantic place to take your significant other. Unfortunately things have changed to a pub style complete with burgers and a wine list that in no way comes close to the food memu.

WILL NOT BE BACK!!!! EVER!!! NOT IT IS JUST THE SAME AS ALL THE OTHER RESTAURANTS IN THE ROW!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank PortCoquitlamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Inventive Middle Eastern/Mediterranean cuisine with accent on seafood.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

First visit and loved it. On the boardwalk in beautiful White Rock BC. Great selection of unique appies, superior wine list and scotch galore!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing