We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Semi Centre House(White Rock)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
House White Rock(White Rock)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Star of the Sea B&B(White Rock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
95
118
49
27
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
118
49
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean promenadeacross the streetunderground parkingone bedroom suitecoffee shopthe pubfull kitchenlight sleeperregular roomdining tablebeds were comfortablesmall cafestayed for one nightper daymarine drivepleasant stayno idea
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 307 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed just one night in the hotel ad had a very pleasant time. White Rock is not Las Vegas! but is a proper seaside town with a nice promenade, lots of cafes and small restaurants and a few bars/pubs slightly spoiled possibly for some by a railway that is between the town and the beach. Trains are noisy but infrequent and none at night that we heard.
Our room (203) was lovely spacious, clean and with a large jacuzzi bath in the bedroom !! as well as a living room and balcony overlooking the beach.
Probably our only ever visit because it is a long way from the UK but if we were here again we would certainly choose this hotel. Breakfast in a small cafe attached was great! friendly, tasty & good value

Room Tip: The best room is 203 ... try and get that one
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We are honored to have you stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you next time you travel out this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

When we got there it was nice, but the walls a really thin. The way the rooms are set up, we had to walk through the hotel, then back outside, then we had to use our key to get down a hallway, followed by being in a hallway with only two rooms, one of which was ours. Our neighbors had multiple children and we were able to hear the crying a great deal of the night. The rooms were relatively expensive and we did not have a scenic view. Still, the people were friendly and the hotel was along the main road by the waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the noise experienced with the neighboring guests. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and hope that we can continue to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I rented a Jacuzzi suite specifically for the Jacuzzi. When we arrived, we began to fill the tub, and then turned on the jets. The sound of the jets was so loud, we had to shout to hear each other. Not exactly romantic! Not only that, but the jets vibrated against the side of the tub, so when we laid our heads against the tub, we got headaches from the shaking. The tub obviously needed some maintenance.

When we called to switch rooms, the woman at the front desk was very understanding, and said she would look into it, but then didn't call us back for 2 hours. By that time we had unpacked and started making dinner, so we didn't want to pack up and move. We asked for a discount on our stay because of the malfunctioning Jacuzzi and she said she would leave a note for the manager. The following morning the manager still hadn't been in to the hotel, and the new woman at the front desk couldn't do anything to rectify the situation. No complimentary breakfast vouchers, no offering to pay for our parking, nothing.

We emailed the manager as soon as we got home, but didn't receive a reply for 2 days. He refused to do anything to make up for our recent stay except offer $50 off our next stay. Not only were we disappointed in the Jacuzzi, we were upset that his staff a) forgot us, and b) couldn't do anything in the morning to make up for it, and caused us to leave frustrated and cheated. Because of this, we have no plan to return, not even for a $50 voucher. Hotels should have staff on duty at all times that can handle matters such as this, instead of having to say "you'll have to speak to the manager" every single time, or being too busy to help guests. We do not recommend staying at this hotel. And if you do, don't expect much service.

And although we knew the hotel had train tracks next to it, we didn't expect to hear trains going by all night. Plus, the mini fridge motor made noises all night. We had to wear earplugs to get to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure if you book a Jacuzzi room, to test it out before you unpack, and if not functioning properly or is too noise, ask to move. A room marketed as a Jacuzzi suite should have a functioning Jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vancouvergal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We apologize that the guest feels their stay was not a positive one. We do hold true that the guest is always right, but in this circumstance we were unable to please the unreasonable demands dictated by the guest that have not been mentioned here. The allegations made by the guest were simply not substantiated. We always strive for excellence in customer service. Unfortunately, we could not deliver on this guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first trip to whiterock. Beautiful location right across from the beach, and walking distance to many shops and great fish n chip joints. We were on the first floor , and had a partial ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the minute we booked. The rooms were very clean, decently roomy. The Train horn is loud , but that will be an issue with any of the hotels because the main line runs right along the beach. We were very happy with our hotel choice and if will stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out kahuna fish n chips just down the road , their fish and chips are the best out of all that we tried. Really good batter and portions! The staff is super friendly and great with kids!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your review on the hotel. We are indeed in a beautiful location on the beaches of White Rock and there are many great little shops and restaurants along the strip here to enjoy. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in the Ocean Promenade Hotel for a one night stop to attend a party in White Rock. We were well received in reception and our room was ready. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The only drawback was the train rolling by both day and night. Of course that is not the fault of the hotel - I guess it is part of living on the waterfront in White Rock but it does detect from the night's sleep. The upside of being on the waterfront is the beautiful view. Check out was smooth and uneventful so, overall, our stay was a success.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do strive to make our guest's experience a better than average stay. We take pride in providing an clean and comfortable stay as well as excellent customer service throughout your stay. We hope to get the chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews