We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first trip to whiterock. Beautiful location right across from the beach, and walking distance to many shops and great fish n chip joints. We were on the first floor , and had a partial ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the minute we booked. The rooms were very clean, decently roomy. The Train horn is loud , but that will be an issue with any of the hotels because the main line runs right along the beach. We were very happy with our hotel choice and if will stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out kahuna fish n chips just down the road , their fish and chips are the best out of all that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your review on the hotel. We are indeed in a beautiful location on the beaches of White Rock and there are many great little shops and restaurants along the strip here to enjoy. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    107
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
75
123
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in the Ocean Promenade Hotel for a one night stop to attend a party in White Rock. We were well received in reception and our room was ready. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The only drawback was the train rolling by both day and night. Of course that is not the fault of the hotel - I guess it is part of living on the waterfront in White Rock but it does detect from the night's sleep. The upside of being on the waterfront is the beautiful view. Check out was smooth and uneventful so, overall, our stay was a success.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do strive to make our guest's experience a better than average stay. We take pride in providing an clean and comfortable stay as well as excellent customer service throughout your stay. We hope to get the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I travel with a small dog and this is a pet allowed hotel. The pet rooms are at the very back of the hotel where there is an outside hallway. Road noise is present if you have a window open. Sounds really amplify in the outside hallway as there is another building very close - creating a sound trap. A train passes by, across the street from the hotel, numerous times per day AND night, sounding it's horn loud and clear.
There are only two pet friendly room options - a small room with one queen bed for $114.00/night or a 1 bedroom suite. I was quoted a variety of prices for the suite...$134, $164, $174 & $194! This was all in one day! My 1 queen bed, pet room was in rough shape and very disappointing. The 80's style quilted bedspread had holes in it and was too big for the bed - bunching up on the floor. The room was so small and tight that there was literally no place to put your suitcase except on the desk, leaving no room for anything else. There was only room to turn around, no chair .... no space. The open door nearly reaches the bed! The bathroom is also small. The door barely cleared the toilet. The shower gave a "biting" spray and there was no vanity - just a sink with a tiny cupboard below. There is no place to put toiletries! The rug was dirty and had numerous cigarette burns despite this bring a non- smoking hotel. When I arrived the toilet had been used and not flushed - calling into question the level of housekeeping! I had to ask them to clean the bathroom.

The room configuration at this hotel is a little different. There is a main door to the room number (Eg 216). Once through that door you enter a little foyer where you go to either "A" or "B". I was in 216-B. 216-A was the 1bedroom suite. It is a little frightening to be caught in the foyer trying to get into your room when you hear a very large dog trying to get through the door to the other suite. I could only keep praying the people in that room would NOT come out or in when I was as it would be very close in that foyer. As a single female, it was frightening every time I went into that foyer because at THAT moment you are in a confined space totally unable to flee if the person in the other room was the least bit aggressive. Then add dogs that might fight in confined space! Not good.
There was a lot of noise transfer from the 1 bedroom suite attached to my room. I found I could hear my neighbours conversations as well as what, exactly!, they were doing in the bathroom. I had to turn up my TV to keep from hearing their every word!

I voiced my concerns about the lack of space, the state of repair in the room and the horror of finding the toilet used on arrival. There was NO attempt to try to make the negatives better. It was almost like they really didn't care. I had to ask them to have housekeeping return to the room to clean the bathroom on that first day.

This hotel is one of very few hotels in the area that are pet friendly? It was a hotel with more class than others close by that are pet friendly. It seems to have hone downhill over the past 3-5 years. I find it quite disheartening that so many hotels, like this one, seem to let their pet rooms fall into disrepair. It is almost like you cannot enjoy a quality product if you have a dog. You must put up with dirty, burnt carpet and bedding with holes!

Room Tip: "A" Suites closer to the front of the building have balconies and nice views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogopogo-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that you did not find your room suitable for you. We do agree with you that as a pet owner, your choice of rooms that are available to you are quite limited unless you stay in one of our pet suites. However, we have many other rooms and suites that are very nicely kept up and quite spacious and we receive many compliments daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My family and I booked this hotel for a family event in White rock. My first time to this hotel and town. I had read reviews about the hotel and some not good. So let me state this is a very nice hotel. Great location in the middle of white rock action. Staff are very friendly ( Sally ) was wonderful and very helpful. Our room was perfect. We took the family suit room 116A and B. Large, spotless, comfortable with a big patio on the side of the building peek a boo view. yes there are trains that roll past the hotel all hours of the night and yes some blow their horns however it didn't bother us at all with the location of our room. I would go back to this hotel with out hesitation should I ever go back to white rock.

Room Tip: Room 116A is on the side of the building so the trains will not bother you as much. Large patio wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classicbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We appreciate your comments. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding experience to all our guests. Our suites are well appointed for family stays as they are quite spacious and there are options to combine rooms. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again when returning to White Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the only hotel located right on the water. It has a nice view, large balcony.
It's pretty much right at the start of all the things to do , to see and all the restaurant on the water. It's very affordable off season. But it's a bit difficult to park to unload or to go check -in before you get the pass to go to the underground parking.
The rooms are nicely done and supplies properly with real size fridge and fire place.

Room Tip: Of course, you want to ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mala V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We want to thank you for your positive comments. This is definitely the perfect location and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer our guests underground parking right away when checking in as we do have a somewhat limited space in our loading zone. We want to thank you again and hope that we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Got to the hotel and checked in and went to - no problem.
Opened door to room and it was colder that the outside. I don't think the heat had been on for quite a while as the walls never really lost the cold emanating from them. Turned on the heater which was noisy and had lukewarm heat coming out. After we came back from dinner we turned the heater back on until bedtime but it really didn't help too much. Had to turn it off to sleep as it was so loud. Slept fitfully due to coldness (lone blanket in cupboard was limited), extremely hard bed and pillows the thickness of a few regular pillows. Sore neck in morning. Happy to check out of there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dwleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to express your concerns.
Generally all rooms are checked prior to arrival to see that the temperature is at an optimum level for comfort, unfortunately this was not the case for you and we do apologize for any discomfort you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I (both seniors in our 70s) have stayed at this hotel approximately 10 times since it has opened, and have been very pleased with the location and rooms. However, upon accessing my credit card account online during a recent 3-night stay, we found that on check-in, the hotel had frozen more than 200% of the total charge of our 3-night stay -- the difference not refunded until 5 days after checkout. Nothing about this practice is mentioned on the hotel website, nor were we informed of this at check-in. When we brought the matter to the attention of management, we were told if it was a problem, the solution was not to stay with them again. And we won't be back as we feel the practice is dishonest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
A pre-authorization is taken on credit cards when guests check in. This is a common practice for almost all hotels and we have kept the same procedure over the last 10 years. The amount held is nowhere near what this guest has specified nor was the guest told to not stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
South Surrey
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newton
Best Western King George Inn & Suites
Semiahmoo Resort
#1 of 3 in Blaine
561 reviews
Star of the Sea B&B
#1 of 16 in White Rock
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Promenade Hotel

Property: Ocean Promenade Hotel
Address: 15611 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Promenade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Promenade White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing