We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view.........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view.........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you have a view of the ocean it would be a nice one. Mine was of the apt building in front and the train woke me at about 1:30 am Shaw cell phone did not work except if standing beside the window. WIFI slow. Noisy neighbours - could hear them just talking. Carpets filthy. Odd odor - from the carpet stains? Beds old spring style, bouncy. Unusual room configuration with a balcony outside but no access - people out there smoking could look right in the windows. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the room on the side with the balcony access and not facing west unless you like 60s music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOB5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    102
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
114
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

So close to the border that my AT&T still worked (Bonus), but right across from the White Rock beach. Made for great walks in the morning to soak in the scenery. Superb restaurants both close to the hotel and about a mile walk away along the beachside. Everyone very friendly and helpful. When we checked in with my son's service animal were upgraded to what I would imagine is a pet friendly room and it was a very large 1 bedroom unit with kitchen. Very nice. Coffee shop is attached which is handy for the morning.

Beds were comfortable, but in the age of white sheets, our room had one of those old fashioned bed covers/comforters. Simple thing, but an extra sheet above the blanket would have looked cleaner and more presentable, instead of pulling this thing of the past off the bed. You know the drill -- who knows when it was last cleaned and it isn't up to date.

The showerhead in our room didn't "stick" up, but kept falling down even with the water pressure in it. I should have mentioned to the front to fix, but we were a quick in and out. Easily fixed though.

Last thing was parking was an issue with "nearly" enough spaces on a busy Friday/Saturday night. Some spaces are the double park kind, which are difficult to use, but all was clean and tidy.

Overall a great stay, just over the border to the beach and the team at the Ocean Promenade were very friendly and willing to help. A great location in White Rock with ample access to this "beach town" with restaurants, bars, and ocean right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great area but very noisy ... wife and I were woken at 11:30 pm to a persistent and "penetrating" clicking noise which appeared to be coming through the wall.
Called desk, they seemed to be aware of the issue and fixed ???
Wife ended up having a terrible sleep after being woken up by the clicking sound and the noise of the 3 local coal trains clanking by across the street throughout the night only made things worse.
If you are looking for a good nights rest do not go here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
This guest "claimed" to hear a fan noise from another floor. This is a soundproof concrete building. We had no other complaints about this. The guest phoned demanding a full refund for their stay and mentioned that he would post negative reviews online. The guest was offered a discount on a future stay but he instead he declined and chose to post his negative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Promenade Hotel in White Rock in April. The location was amazing! It was right across from the beach and it was close to a number of good restaurants. We had breakfast down the road at Poultry in Motion. I highly recommend it...low key, small-town feel with delicious food. The hotel room we stayed in was very clean and we were impressed with the comfort of the King-sized bed. The staff was really nice and helpful. They made us feel very welcome! We checked in rather late and they were kind enough to upgrade our room seeing as they weren't fully booked. They gave us a lovely Studio room with a kitchen and a fireplace. It was very nicely decorated, had lovely wood flooring, and the bathroom floor was even heated! I would love to stay in this room again. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed if you stay at The Ocean Promenade Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. They are very kind to accommodate requests if they can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location right along the beach. Everything within walking distance including some great fish n chip places (look for the one with the surfboard in front of it. Amazing tartar sauce). Beautiful beach we had fun exploring on. Room was clean and had easy access to vehicle. I felt secure and we had a great sleep. Nice staff who were helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you positive experience here at the hotel. We are happy you had a great time in White Rock. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

You know that you are in the right place when the parking garage has clean, shinny, polished floors. Wow.. were we impressed. We were only there for one night.. Beds, pillows.. it was all up to par.
They have kitchenettes if you want to stay longer, have laundry facilities.. Right across from the beach.. You can watch the train go by... It happened to be a beautiful sunny Spring day..
We walked to dinner and breakfast within a 1/2 mile or you can eat at the cafe "Watts UP"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2teeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Promenade H, Manager at Ocean Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We strive to make your stay a wonderful one. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at the Ocean Promenade for two 2-week spans over the past couple of months as I was in the area for work and really enjoyed my stays. The service is impeccable and the location is simply perfect as you are right on the beach / boardwalk. The rooms are nice and very clean and many have a kitchen area which is great for prolonged stays. Unlike other reviews, I did not find that the train noise was a problem or that the parking was too tight. I even got the chance to meet the hotel general manager and it is refreshing to see people taking the guest experience quality to heart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Rock
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
South Surrey
BEST WESTERN Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newton
BEST WESTERN King George Inn & Suites
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Promenade Hotel

Property: Ocean Promenade Hotel
Address: 15611 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > White Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Promenade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Promenade White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing