We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishboat Restaurant

Fishboat Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 141 Restaurants in White Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving british style fish n chips by the waterfront. we serve Ling Cod (its the best Cod) and Halibut. We also have a great selection of other seafood, prawns . scallops and lobster tail, crab legs. for non-seafood fans we have chicken, beef and vege burger served on freshly baked buns.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Two reasons why our visit to the Fishboat was disappointing: 1) service was terrible despite there being only two other (small) parties there; 2) the French fries are pre-salted before being cooked and the amount of salt used was way over the top, making the fries almost inedible. The fish, however, was near perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Docondquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishboat, Owner at Fishboat Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
thank you for taking the time to leave a review, sorry that our service on your visit was not to your standard, i usually make to point to visit each table to ask how everything was, sometimes it is hard to tell how busy we are even if it shows only 2 tables, because we are a eat in/ take out restaurant, the kitchen could have been busy on take outs. but still no excuse for bad service, so please accept my apology. the fries are always salted with sea salt when they leave our kitchen, at the table we have sea salt should you require extra salt. but as a general rule at most chip shops fries are always salted when they leave the kitchen, next time if you let us know you do not want them salted, we will gladly leave them unsalted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best fish and chips !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had the best fish and chips ever ! Great service and ambience. The cod was fresh. The batter was light ! Real French fries . Nothing frozen here !Put this on your " must do " list when visiting beautiful White Rock BC
Ps try the fish tacos as well ! A+

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roberto32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishboat experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went into the Fishboat on a very hot Sunday in July, It was empty when we went in and we filled the place. The service was very slow but we accepted that because of our number, 9 and 3 kids. After an hour it was a bit frustrating and when we were finally served one of our party had her meal missed completely. Luckily the rest of the party shared with her. The final insult however was when we came to pay and he wanted the money for the can of coke she had received. Wow, customer service at its worst. Next time you make such an error I think maybe a complimentary can of coke is the least you could do. We will not be returning

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 151Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great environment, great hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are tourists from Toronto and found ourselves in this cozy fish and chips resteraunt. The place was decorated beautifully and each piece had a story. The waiter was very accommodating and respected all our food preferences and requests (allergies etc). We eat a lot of seafood and this tops our list of places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayesha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!! Hands down the best on the strip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Every time we have company (which is often) we always take them to the fishboat. Fresh fish and chips, crispy batter and not too greasy (unlike some others on the strip). The onion rings are awesome! They also have some unique drinks on their menu which are fun- ginger rootbeer, jones, sparkling lemonade, etc. I recently had their fish tacos which were again, fantastic! Served with fresh mango & cilantro salsa. Yum! The owners are quirky and pleasant, he's always joking around with us and she always goes the extra mile to ensure our food is great. P.S. I'm not sure why the cover photo is a weird looking pasta- I have NEVER had that there... Ill post a pic of their fish and chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NrG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishboat Restaurant also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Fishboat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing