We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French Bistro”
Review of Le Vol Au Vent

Le Vol Au Vent
Ranked #12 of 143 Restaurants in White Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $21
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best French Bistro”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for years. It provides authentic French bistro food such as sweatbreads, kidneys and delicious mushrooms. Also has excellent seafood and meats for those who don't like like sort of thing. Very friendly service. Family run

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic French experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Le Vol au Vent French bistro is an experience to savour! Everything we have eaten is delicious and makes one feel like they are eating in a little bistro in France. Our favourites are the kidneys in a delectable sauce, the roasted duck, seafood crepes, the sole, croque Normand with melted camembert, wild mushrooms in a vol au vent with its velvety sauce, and lastly but not least, the wonderful pommes frites! Coffee is delicous too and is served with hot milk, cold cream and a mixture of sugars, add one of Michel's desserts which are displayed on the counter, and you have a truly memorable French meal. The service is always friendly and you can have a relaxing and pleasant experience, one that we do as often as we can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympicVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“real hidden gem”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The menu offers several tempting choices, authentic French cuisine in scenic White Rock. We ordered the lobster bisque, seafood salad, Bone marrow , Onion soup and seafood bouillabaise, we tried the creme brulee which was delicious with a thick coating of sugar and a generous dollop of whip cream; the pear marinated in wine was like a pleasant delicious apple pie without the added carbs. Charming service from the husband & wife team. All in all, I love this place, it was quaint and authentic, got a beautiful view of the water, the owners are friendly , and the food is fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like in France”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I lived in France for a couple of years and every time I go to this restaurant, all the great memories from some great French restaurants are flooding back. This is as real and authentic as it can get. Its my family's guilty pleasure and my 2.1/2 years old favorite restaurant!
outstanding lobster bisque, love the veal liver, the upside down apple pie, so many great dishes, you really cant go wrong.
To top that the owners are a delight to see time and time again, great service everytime.
Fantastic!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, personal service. Fantastic French cooking.”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food is always fresh, simple and delicious. The desserts are amazing, cooked by the chef and never disappoint. It is one of those restaurants where they know you and are always friendly, and make you feel really welcome.
We have never experienced poor service here, but it is not a fast food restaurant. It is a place you go to savor the tastes and enjoy the atmosphere.
Last night we had fish and chips - even this was amazing - crisp fish and those amazing skinny fries, just like in France. My son had the seafood salad, which he said was fantastic.
In our opinion, there is no restaurant better than Le Vol au Vent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vol Au Vent also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Le Vol Au Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing