We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent zip-lining in beautiful Whistler!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.88*
and up
Zipline Adventure in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A year-round operation, Ziptrek Ecotours is the North American pioneer of zipline tours. We offer an entertaining combination of high-wire adventure and ecological exploration.Soar between Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains on Whistler’s most popular zipline adventure. A total of 10 ziplines are joined by suspension bridges and platforms over 150’ high in the tree canopy. Choose from 2 zipline tours and then fly through the ancient rainforest on the ride of a lifetime!
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent zip-lining in beautiful Whistler!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

There were a variety of cool sounding things we wanted to do on our stay in the Vancouver/Whistler area, but man am I glad we chose Ziptrek Ecotours. We did the Bear tour (although after we heard the Eagle tour and then a third option to do both combined were both better) and man was it fun! The tour consisted of a practice zip in Whistler on a sort of training set up to get the feel of zip lining, then a short drive to the trail where we walked out on to tree top platforms connected by suspension bridges. The whole area we walked around in was very cool, and there was some interesting and informative talks about the rain forest that we were in, the trees, the zip line courses, etc. Then as we walked through the woods we zip lined a few more times (5 in all if I remember correctly?) with lines of different sizes and speeds. One in particular was very very long over the valley/river rapids below and really gave you time to appreciate the surroundings, On the final zip, the guides even demonstrated how to flip upside down while zipping if you want to - and trust me, I did it, and you want to!

All in all it was a great excursion! The two guides we had were awesome, the zip lining was fun and exciting, and I would highly recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarrickH, Director of Marketing at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear PatHughes,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your enthusiastic review of Ziptrek - much appreciated. We're thrilled that you chose to do Ziptrek among the many competing options.

Sounds like you had a blast, and you did a nice job of covering off some of the details for other readers, which I'm sure they will find informative.

Cheers,

Warrick Hubbard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,145
    124
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous adventure in Whistler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a fabulous time with Ziptrek and the leaders were funny, informative and paid careful attention to safety. I had gone to two other ziplining courses in other provinces but this one was by far the best. It was higher than I was used to and I have a fear of heights. The guides were very patient and by the last line, I was hanging upside down. The dismounts going down stairs was a much gentler send off than other tours I have been on. The views over Fitzimmon's Creek were incredible. We did the Bear trip and found it plenty exciting. The tiny practice zip at the base of the mountain is no where near what you experience over the Creek. It was a very fun morning. If you go before 9 am the rates are cheaper and worth every penny.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative & Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I did the Eagle tour with Ziptrek and we had lots of fun! The tour guides were very friendly & they knew what they were talking about and, even though we are from Northern BC, we learned a lot about the wildlife & landscape of the province. The wander through the trees is really quite beautiful and the ziplining was a rush! The only negative aspect of this tour was that the harnesses for the zipline were uncomfortable... but that was a small price to pay for such beautiful views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“TreeTrek tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having a delicate lower back and not being fond of heights steered us towards the tamer of the options offered by Ziptrek. Being high up in the canopy of the trees on platforms are a realization of your childhood dreams of building über tree forts that makes this worth doing. The ecology narration that comes with the tour did at times detract from my overall enjoyment. When the guide starts throwing in terms like "mother earth", "karma" and the like it moves from being informative to a presentation of a distorted world view. Nonetheless, if you stay engaged you can learn something at about the flora you are surrounded by. We purchased this as part of a package that included the peak-to-peak gondola ride. Bringing the overall value back in line. It also helps that you receive 20% of your meal @ Dubh Linn Gate Pub after purchasing a tour from Ziptrek.

Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarrickH, Director of Marketing at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear PhoenixFlash,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review of Ziptrek - much appreciated. I was delighted to read that your TreeTrek tour provided the opportunity to rekindle and realize some of your childhood dreams of being high up in the canopy among the tree tops.

I was obviously less pleased to read that you felt the sustainability education component was a detraction at times. The majority of our guests have found this to be an enhancement (as evidenced by other reviews, and feedback we've received). That said, I can fully appreciate that if the information provided is skewed or presented in a way that makes things unclear or slightly off base, that is not ideal (or what we strive for). We do provide our guides the latitude to inject some of their unique personalities, style, or flavourings to their speaking points, but not to the degree that would allow for inaccuracies, or distortions (that of course is not the intention). Thank you again for providing this feedback which I can share with our Operations Group.

Lastly, nice to hear you managed to partake in the Peak 2 Peak Combo (a great package), and the Dubh Linn Gate deal - sounds like you hit the perfect trifecta!

Cheers,

Warrick Hubbard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun morning with Ziptrek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very safe for a family activity. We did the Eagle Tour. Enjoyed the scenery and our guides were very informative about the surrounding ecosystem. Our group members all tried going upside down on the last zip...quite a thrill and not that scary.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nursesue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing