We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, average wine, above average prices”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Whistler
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Whistler is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 190 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a transit stop 100 yards from the restaurant.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average food, average wine, above average prices”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We should have known better walking in and simply turned around. The scruffy staff and threadbare carpets are sure signs that a restaurant has had its day. Service was agonizingly slow and the food cool or cold when it arrived. The meat was only passable, hence the two dot rating, but the black cod was, cold and vile. The wine list is wholly unremarkable, except the mark up is about twice as high as it should be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    350
    128
    58
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good service and food but expensive and not the best steak house we have been too. Fillet was tender but could have been tastier; the rib was tasty but quite fatty. The sirloin was the best cut we had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieHMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice steak”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here befor. Visited twice on our recent holiday (10 days) I had the same twice! Sirloin Oscar with scallops and prawns with Bernaise sauce. Lovely on both occasions. Steak cooked as requested. Husband had 2 different steaks and enjoyed both including the prime roast rib with jus. Nice not to have chips/ fries thrust down your throat. Steaks come with plenty of choices including garlic mashed potato and baked. Staff were surprised on both occasions that I had a plain baked potato.
No room for sweet.
Had the Malbec on both occasions which was very nice and seemed to go down well with the servers. Bit chilly if you sit by the window/ in the path of the air con.
Would return again.

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to the keg for a nice steak despite the lackluster reviews on tripadvisor. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is a lounge downstairs that serves bar fare, but the bar menu is not available in the main restaurant. The explanation from our server was that it is two separate restaurants. Fine. Speaking of the server, although the service and timing wasn't bad, he acted curt and impatient despite our party being one of about five in the entire restaurant. What was bad was the food. Every piece of meat we ordered in our party of nine was overcooked by at least one degree, and most overcooked by two. All the sides were the same, uninspiring and lackluster at best. Wouldn't recommend unless a limited menu of overcooked, overpriced meat is your cup to tea.

Helpful?
Thank Docdic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice steak shame about the service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Visited the keg yesterday, with my husband, for dinner (with a reservation). We were seated promptly, unfortunately, our drinks took 25 mins to materialise. Then staff tried to serve us another tables meals!. Our dinner took a further 25 mins to arrive. There was no explanation or apology and when we eventually received our meals no one bothered to check that everything was alright. In fact I had to get my mustard from a young man clearing another table.

Just when we thought nothing else would go wrong our waiter (who had never bothered to introduce himself) gave me someone elses bill, again no apology. The real shame is the food was pretty good! Needless to say we will spend our money elsewhere. A restaurant who can afford to treat guests like this don't really deserve my custom.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBirdKentishMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Whistler also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing