We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in Whistler”

Trattoria di Umberto
Ranked #51 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Whistler bus loop is a short 2 minute walk from our restaurant.
Description: Featuring rustic Tuscan cuisine in a warm and family-friendly atmosphere. You'll find us in the heart of Whistler Village, Trattoria offers the year-round sports enthusiast fine Italian cuisine for a refreshing break after skiing, hiking, golf, or mountain biking. We thrive on style and originality. Open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are highly recommended.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Value in Whistler”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place was worth every penny both in terms of food and service. I had the gnocchi and it was super rich and tasted great. A person at our table did not enjoy the seasoning on his dish and they remade a new dish quickly and efficiently. I was impressed with the food and the places commitment to old school service.

Helpful?
1 Thank rubymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    118
    50
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little disappointing second time round...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Boyfriend and I visited Whistler last weekend to attend the annual Turkey Sale. Upon arrival, we decided to flip through the local paper to see what restaurants we should try for our stay. We remembered liking Trattoria during our December 2011 visit and noticed a special deal being offered. Made a reservation over the phone for the second night of our two night stay.

Sunday evening we arrived at the restaurant and were placed at a table in the middle of the restaurant. Seating was a bit disappointing because it wasn't that busy and we had made reservations. We were given the menus and decided on a salad and Spaghettie Bolognese. They had 3 course set menu going on but none of the food appealed to us. The food was surprisingly bland and average. Mid-way through our meal we overhear another server informing guests of their special thanksgiving dinner. The menu sounded delicious. The turkey dinner was what we had read in the newspaper (we just hadn't remembered it). We were so disappointed.

The worst part? New guests get seated next to us with our same server and the first thing she metnions to them is this wonderful Thanksgiving special they've got going!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sneaknsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food but slow service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary in Whistler and decided to dine at di Umberto on Saturday night. The restaurant was fully booked as it was also Thanksgiving weekend so reservations are highly recommended especially on a weekend. Upon walking in the aromas were amazing and the staff were all smiles and very professional.

There was a fall special menu, starter, entree and dessert for $29. My wife had the spinach and mushroom salad, ling cod with moroccan couscous and berries and sabayon (custard) for dessert. While I ordered the beef carpacio, fettucine vongole and tiramisu. My meal was not on the special menu but my wife's was.

Our reservation was at 6:30 and although our appetizers arrived quickly the entrees took forever! The entrees weren't served until after 8pm. The table beside us who had arrived after we did were already starting their dessert! The manager and waiter both apologized profusely, one said the entrees were late because the pasta wasn't al dente, while the other said the fish was over done. I think the kitchen may have just forgotten about our order.

Aside from the slow service the food was delicious! The fish was perfectly cooked and was balanced well with the veggies and couscous. While the vongole had just the right amount of garlic and sauce...the pasta wasn't drenched and it had the right amount of flavours.

Due to the slow service they did not charge us for the 1 coffee (we only ordered the one) and tiramisu a total savings of about $14 I guess.

Perhaps we may have been the ones in the restaurant to miss out on the service as the tables beside us seemed to be served promptly. I think I'd come back to this place for the food and friendly staff....we'll see if their service improves though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeethroughmyEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A birthday Dinner”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For my wife's birthday we picked Umbertos Whistler Trattoria.
They had a fall special priced menu $29.99 for 3 courses. It was amazing, the main course we both choose was the Lamb Shank, we both agreed it was the best in a very long time. The service was perfect, attentitive but very professional and warm !!
Thank Umberto --- A very Happy Birthday

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An amazing experience watching top chefs create our great dining experience!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The four of us sat at the bar looking into the kitchen, watching as Umberto's team led by Chef James Buchanan created top-class dining experiences for the customers. Rather than re-state other reviewers' positive comments about ambiance, quality and service, let me focus on what made this experience so wonderful (we have no negatives)..

1st: Our meal was in the truest traditions of Italian cuisine using the best of local, fresh ingredients, relying on their taste and Italian techniques to build the courses: 1) Aperitivo, 2) Primo 3) Secondo, 4) Contorno, followed by the Dolce and Digestivo.

2nd: Of all our delicious dishes (including glazed salmon, pork tenderloin) my favorite was an exquisite combination of confit of duck, portabello mushrooms and potato mash, roasted in an envelope of thinly sliced potatoes. The Dolce course was wonderful creations from international award-winning pastry chef, Pascale.

3rd: The kitchen was pristine, marked by quiet, disciplined teamwork, careful & artistic building of each dish, and final checks by the servers for presentation and order accuracy.

4th: The prepped ingredients were stored in handy, temperature-controlled covered drawers & containers, which were frequently checked and resupplied by kitchen staff while we were there.

My title says it all: An amazing experience watching top chefs create our great dining experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colonelhightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria di Umberto also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Trattoria di Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing