We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #20 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Redding, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The sushi here is awesome! The location and the service are like the icing on the cake. They don't have a huge selection of rolls...but the stuff that comes out of their sushi bar is amazing. I have never had a bad meal. The service staff is willing to go above & beyond to ensure that you have a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank BQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    218
    66
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Location and Decent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The location of this restaurant is great! Especially if you're staying in The Village. It's also right next to the slopes so we were able to get a small glimpse of the "fire show" on the slopes.

The prices looked slightly high (typical of a restaurant in this location) but, after ordering a bowl of udon, along with the sushi pieces, it was decently filling. The strawberry margarita sakes are amazing and super yummy! Not the most alcohol in them but was enough to keep me happy (we ordered TWO pitchers for 4 of us - about 2 glasses each).

All in all, this is a great place to go for a wind down dinner. Cost us about $150 for four of us. It was also my birthday (and my brother's) that night. :)

Oh, I should also mention that this place gets crowded. When we went (on a Sunday night), it was about an hour wait. Which, for us, wasn't that big of a deal since we all wanted to go shopping around the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Doors open at 5pm to a crush of expectant diners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

A long time favourite for its high quality sushi and reasonable (for Whistler) prices.

A big shout out to Ross, our ever patient and knowledgeable waiter.

This is not a place for ordering the biggest boat to extract good value. Instead given the reasonable prices dive right into the menu by first ordering the ever salty and citrusy seaweed salad and the shitake and scallops (order a bowl of rice to soak up the gravy). Then order a series of rolls from the simple tekka to the spicy scallop before diving into the pricier special rolls including the beautiful scallop and tuna roll. Finish off the meal with multiple steaming cups of their woodsy japanese tea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good option for Whistler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Like all moderately priced places in Whistler it involves a wait till you are seated. Luckily they have a great little holding pen where you can get a drink and have a seat.

The sushi is good not great. They really have their service systems down. Everything comes up fast, no doubt because they are trying for quick table turnover. Fine with this, though chilled edimami is a bit of a disappointment.

It is definitely a place that I will retrun on my next visit to Whistler.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've been to Sushi Village quite a few times, and only return when someone else is choosing the restaurant. Don't get me wrong - the food is usually quite good. But I have had so many bad experiences with the servers. The attitude is so lack-lustre and disinterested, it completely ruins the overall experience.
Do yourself a favour and try either Nagomi Sushi &/or Satchi Sushi for the same quality without the attitude.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dwrwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing