We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and good for kids”
Review of Mongolie Grill

Mongolie Grill
Ranked #22 of 195 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Mongolian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of gorgeous Whistler Village, Mongolie Grill is the ultimate atmosphere for a fun, friendly and healthy meal. Independently owned and operated since 1996, the Mongolie Grill has developed into a World Famous dining experience.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't order the hot and sour soup! Go for the miso soup. We celebrated my son's 2nd birthday here. The kids enjoyed making their own meals and finished what they ordered. Food is not cheap but ingredients are fresh. you can fix your food according to your taste. There is a wait for cooking. Also, we were charged the dinner prices instead of lunch so good thing my brother in law caught it and had the bill adjusted. Exhaust needs to be improved because you smell like cooked food after dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny-COANM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for the review and especially for sharing your son's 2nd birthday with us! It's awesome to hear the kids enjoyed putting together their favorite fresh ingredients. Hope to see again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 571 of 894 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a fun way to make sure you get what you want, the choice is wide and cooked quickly and healthily. There is a range of meats, veg and sauces and plenty of complimentary rice. Service was quick and friendly and we had a great meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hey Chris M! Glad to hear you were happy with our speedy service! It's something we've been working on expanding lately and with the new techniques we've been able to keep everything more efficient than ever! Hoping to enjoy another dining experience with you on your next ski vacation! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Choose your own ingredients and sauce, the chefs then weigh the raw ingredients, charge accordingly and then cook the food on a giant hot plate.

Obviously the food is fresh and the taste is entirely your own making. Bear in mind you get "free' rice therefore loading your plate with noodles is perhaps foolhardy.

Also think about what looks not much in the bowl, can you look embarrassing and expensive on the hot plate with your gluttony on display for all to see.

Good fun and provided your head dictates what your stomach needs, not unreasonable value for Whistler.

Helpful staff make an enjoyable and different dining experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks for your review Julesski! We like to think our different atmosphere is a good representation of what Whistler is about; being fresh and fun! Much appreciation going out to you from the Mongolie Grill Whistler family! Hope to share a meal with you on your next ski vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Can't fault food quality and the initial fun element, the chefs made it memorable, but having to queue ages to await your food to be cooked and being charged by weight means our bill was one of the highest we had in Whistler. I like fresh veg but be warned, some veg is heavy and your plate might not be full but your bill will be!

Thank Grovewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan F, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks for the review! Stoked to hear you enjoyed the food and the entertainment from the chefs! Coming in early (before 6:30, or after 9:00) is a good way to be in and out fast. We're also working on some new techniques at the grill to drastically cut down lines and prevent guests from waiting during our peak hours. Come by to check it out if you have a chance! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ate here twice in a week, our children loved it and so did we. We had to wait about 20 mins to get a table, but it was worth it. Its very informal, there is no menu, just choose from from lots of different stir fry ingredients - veg, noodles, meats, seafood etc and sauces, take your bowl to the chefs and enjoy their almost balletic, synchronised, entertaining cooking on a huge round griddle thing. You pay by the weight of your bowl, and we were given good advice by our waitress about how much to choose. Complimentary rice is served too, so don't go mad. Staff were all great, drinks service was excellent. On our 2nd visit, the waiter waited till we had our cooked food before delivering my piping hot Sake, and fortune cookies at the end was a nice touch. Would certainly return when back in Whistler.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cove_909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Oh man, what a review! Return customers always put a smile on our face! Sharing two nights of your Whistler vacation dining with us is an honor. Sending out much appreciation to you and your family TassTog. And we're looking forward to having you again in the future! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolie Grill also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Mongolie Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing