We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining and tasty”
Review of Mongolie Grill

Mongolie Grill
Ranked #25 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $38
Cuisines: Mongolian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of gorgeous Whistler Village, Mongolie Grill is the ultimate atmosphere for a fun, friendly and healthy meal. Independently owned and operated since 1996, the Mongolie Grill has developed into a World Famous dining experience.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Entertaining and tasty”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went a couple of times here with family and like everyone else selected far too much ingredients! But was really good fun selecting the ingredients and watching the cooking. The food was fantastic too. Delighful stirfry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcmarty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for referring to our stir fry as delightful, we'll be sure to tell the chefs! We're also glad you enjoyed the overall experience and we encourage you to come back, bring the family and join us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    296
    96
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, selection, and service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stopped by for a lunch while visiting over the Christmas break.

Service was great - the servers were very informative and friendly.

Food was great as well, and the gentleman manning the grill sure knew what he was doing! Plenty of food selection, well prepared, and all appeared to be very fresh. The sauces were great too.

My wife, however, with the lunch time discount, was able to rack up a $48 bill - for a not unusually large portion. We were warned about the cost being by weight, but this was much higher than anticipated.

In short - it's definitely worth the visit, but be cognaissant of what you're putting into your dish :)

Un

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our staff will be so pleased to hear you had exceptional service, grill time and meal experience. Thank you for your feedback we will be reviewing it shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good meal with a unique twist”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have been coming to Whistler for 14 years and we always eat a couple of times at Mongolie Grill. We have not encountered the concept anywhere else. You chose your ingredients , you chose the amount and the sauce and it is cooked in front of you.
The food is fresh and essentially you are responsible for the taste:-)
It is highly sought after so we suggest going early or late to avoid the permanent queue at peak hours. Some might consider it expensive but we thought that it is good value at $100 for a great meal for 2 people with a glass of wine. Maybe not so good if you are a vegetarian:-)
The only suggestion for the owners....maybe open another location or a larger area with 2 grills to minimise the queues. We have up several times and we went somewhere else du to the long waiting time at the door.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to make us a regular part of your Whistler visits. We appreciate the queue suggestions and will be reviewing them throughout the New Year. Come visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best in Whistler”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a meal at this amazing restaurant, after queuing in the stairwell for 30 minutes we were shown to our table and the waitress explained how it all works. The food was amazing, fresh and suited all types of diets. One thing to remember is to chose a small bowl when filling all your ingredients for the chef to cook. They charge by the weight and I feel that there is more large bowls put out than small ones. The food and spices where we'll worth the wait and we did over fill our bowls, so our plates were over flowing and we all managed to eat the lot!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkskupch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and the 5 star review! We're excited that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unusual but worth it”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stir fry to perfection. You choose your veg, fish, meat, sauce etc, get it weighed and priced then watch it being cooked. Easy to go mad though, my husbands was $40. However great service, definitely be going back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nijo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Manager at Mongolie Grill, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
"Stir Fry to Perfection"?! Those are some powerful words. We're honoured to have earned them. Thank you for joining us over the holidays and we welcome you to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolie Grill also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Mongolie Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing