We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Taste & Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Caminetto

Il Caminetto
Ranked #36 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Scheduled to reopen on November 1, 2017. We are currently closed for renovations as we prepare to join our new family of restaurants under the Toptable Group. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Taste & Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

First time eating at Il Caminetto in Whistler - The hostess was very welcoming and pleasant. Our server was also very friendly and helpful! Great menu selection (veal, calamari, fish, steak, salads and of course, pasta). Perfect location along the village stroll and the atmosphere was amazing. I had a seafood pasta with mussels, shrimp & scallops in a white wine sauce - Flavour was unreal! Also had fried mozzarella for the appetizer and it was delicious (although too expensive for what it was). Definitely small portion sizes, but very tasty. The food was quite pricey so I wouldn't eat here regularly. The staff was very professional but not up-tight, which was nice.. And the food arrived very quickly :) The desserts were very good too - We tried the Tiramisu and Pistachio creme brûlée which were very yummy. I would definitely recommend this place for a date or special occasion! Also, I would make a reservation online beforehand as it was very busy on the weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00VanCity00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    154
    55
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rude and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been here a few times and have enjoyed the food in the previous years. This year was a different story. I do not know if they hired a new chef or decided to change the way they cook but I was definitely NOT impressed. Let begin with our waiter. He was VERY rude. Did not take any time to take consideration into our ordering. Was rushing our order in which we told him several times we wanted to wait to order our mains. His response being "dishes take longer than you think, but ok".. anyways we get our food in which I was not impressed. The calamari salad use to be amazing until now. The calamari was rubbery and unsatisfying. I ordered minestrone soup which has NO flavour and was a complete waste of money. I am sorry but I come from an Italian family and this food was NOT worth the money. To top it off the waiter left our table without telling us and got another server to take over for the remainder of the meal. Just rude and unprofessional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great cellar, service, and cuisine...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Took two very discerning foodie friends from Toronto to dinner here with great results.
Surroundings were reminiscent of an older Italian era - sophisticated but welcoming. Service was knowledgeable and friendly with timely arrival of each dish and we were not rushed. The wine list is immense and varied. Our guests wanted the best of BC wines and we were able to select both white and red from the wide choice of both.
We all especially liked the sensible portion sizes of each course, which enabled us all to thoroughly enjoy an appetizer, a main, and a dessert each. The food was superb - beautifully cooked and presented. Absolutely no complaints. Diners cannot go wrong here. Value? Moderately expensive but definitely worth it.
Highly recommended if you want a special evening out with friends who love their food and wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We ate here for the first time during spring break. Previously, we had dined at Umbertos in Vancouver over the years and liked it very much. We were surprised to find that we liked this restaurant of Umbertos in Whistler even more, which we did not think possible! What we liked was the soothing surroundings...the color of the walls, the many pieces of art on the walls, the way the tables were spaced so that you did not feel crowded. This ambience is just as important as the food for us. The food was delicious, although I have had better gnocchi in da Marios in Burnaby.. The recommended Italian wine was very good. The service was excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marissaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Italian in the Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I recently went to Il Caminetto. The place is pretty nicely decorated and very warm and inviting. The food we thought was pretty good, but not the best in Whistler. I had the penne with sausage and my wife had the pasta with rose sauce and pancetta. We each had salads that were very good. The lemon tart desert we had was excellent. The service was good as well. I would say this is in the top 3 for Italian in the village, so I would recommend it, but its not at the top of my list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Caminetto also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Il Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing