We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, pleasant ambience”
Review of Il Caminetto

Il Caminetto
Ranked #39 of 193 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Scheduled to reopen on November 1, 2017. We are currently closed for renovations as we prepare to join our new family of restaurants under the Toptable Group. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good meal, pleasant ambience”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

After years of repeat-visiting our favorite Whistler restaurants, we decided to vary our routine. This is an expensive place to eat; we were quite happy but not blown away. The place was not crammed full with tables almost touching, but convivial enough to exchange pleasantries with neighbors, and one can converse without being drowned out by clatter or loud music. I raved about my ahi and avocado appetizer; the squash soup was more ordinary. My companion enthused over his seared foie gras, though his osso buco seemed a little lacking in flavor. Very pleasant server offered us an array of tempting desserts but we'll have to try those another time.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    155
    55
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely treat”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Toyed with the idea of going back to Araxi (as surely the most exclusive restaurant in Whistler), alas decided to go for a slightly "more relaxed, more reasonable" option. We were not disappointed - lovely atmosphere, that sort of buzzes, but is not intrusive, attentive but not intrusive service, and really delicious food! Mussels, in particular, were the largest and tastiest I've ever had.... Would recommend this spot for a slightly special, but down-to-earth evening out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Piano bar”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just dropped in for a glass of wine and watch Diane Lines & Tony Chamberlist perform. Always a treat to come to this establishment! Unfortunately we just found that this is their last night here. Jazzy duo! If you have a chance to have dinner here please do. Although I did not tonight I have in the past and is never disappointing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Would come again and again!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband, 13 year old daughter and I had dinner here. I had the red snapper and prawn special. Daughter had salmon and husband the veal picatta Parmesan. Every bite was perfection!!! We are very picky when we travel and choose fine dining. The portions were fair considering the price. Excellent flavor!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dinner at the top of the piano”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Have you ever had a dinner at the top of the piano? I did now and it was really great! Friendly chat with a very talented musician and her husband, nice food especially ossobuco and oysters... Love this place!
It's let you relax, rethink what have you done today at the slopes and what crazy things will you do tomorrow....

Helpful?
Thank RGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Caminetto also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Il Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing