We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavaria Restaurant - CLOSED

Bavaria Restaurant
Cuisines: German, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a place where many of the international racers who come for competitions unwind at the end of the day. The ambiance is convivial and enhanced by a knowledgeable and fun staff. I love rouladen but this time it was cooked with a sweet lean cut of bison. Mmmmmmm. Accompanied with a perfectly cooked spaetzle.

In the summer there is a petanque course outside which was put in to remember Joel who was Angela (the current owner)'s husband. He had the great Chez Joel restaurant for years. Angela and her staff continue to maintain the quality of food that Joel set years before.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhistlerSnowpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    22
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are lucky enough to travel to Whistler every few years. We save the Bavaria Restaurant as our final (special) dinner. We split all our courses as we love the food here and like to sample as many dishes as possible. We had the French Onion Soup, the baby spinach and shrimp salad, stuffed bison, and the chocolate fondue. I want to mention they serve a great hefeweizen beer! (We normally have the elk / venison / moose medallion trio as a main course - it's been pulled from the menu, but the owner told us to phone first and she would have the chef make it for us when we return next season). The owner and the staff are charming as always.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robzranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a true German experience, but great service makes up the difference!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

After a long day of skiing, our party of seven (including 3 children) was desperate to find a cozy and accommodating restaurant to relax. Unfortunately, with a conference in town, options within the village were limited. Luckily we came across the Bavaria, where their server, Bob, ensured we had a wonderful time. Bob made sure the children were served quickly, made an excellent off-menu wine suggestion and kept the beer glasses chilled. Fondue was fun and tasty. Other menu items were good, although not exceptional, and pricing seemed to be in line with our expectations. The Bavaria may not offer a true German menu, but if you're looking for hearty fare, comfortable chalet-like environs and excellent service, it's a great option.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LishoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a decent meal here couple of years ago but this time was not impressed at all. Cheese fondue appeared diluted and watery, raclette was cut way too thick and undercooked, meat dishes inelegant and unmemorable. All in all a very disappointing meal, the only saving grace was the enthusiastic and friendly waitress who did a great job serving our table of 12.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pawnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food, but waiters need to learn menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my 2nd review of the restaurant. Once again, the food was very good, but the waiters really need to learn the menu. We had a traditional Bavarian meal (I think it was Schweinebraten or Sauerbraten, dont remember at the moment) and they were going to serve it with regular potatoes. I told the waiter that in Bavaria these meals are served with Potato or Bread dumplings, but they didnt have it. So I said serve it with Spaetzle, since they have it on the menu, but she didn't know what I was talking about.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaria Restaurant also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing