We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb. Excelent dining and outstanding service.”

Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #11 of 174 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Whistler Village Square
Description: The best of nearby fields, pastures and pristine waters. The culinary cornerstone in the heart of Whistler Village, Araxi enjoys a long held international reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. As an early pioneer of farm-to-table dining, Executive Chef James Walt's seasonally focused menus celebrate the excellence of locally sourced ingredients. Chef Walt's innovative and skillfully executed dishes-from savoury starters through delicious desserts-deliver intelligent compositions and unforgettable flavours. Centrally located in the main square of the village, Araxi boasts a contemporary dining room coloured in warm earth tones - and a sleek Oyster Bar that exudes the passion and craftsmanship that lie at the heart of the restaurant. The lively lounge, which features a year-round indoor/outdoor bar, is Whistler's favourite gathering place for both locals and visitors alike.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Araxi is an exquisite upscale restaurant. Plates are well served and prepared carefully. Presentation is great. Our waiter Antonio from Spain was very communicative and extremely attentive. We had Fois Gras, Lamb and Steelhead. Everything was oustanding.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank ANDRETS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 933 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2016

I had high expectations because my friend has been telling me how good Araxi is. Food wasn't as great as I expected. Service was excellent. This review is only based on the 2 main dishes we had. Unfortunately we were too full to try any appetizer/desserts. I had the risotto with shrimps and added a scallop to it. Risotto was creamy and delicious. Be sure the add scallop(s), it's really good. My BF had the halibut. It was ok, not the best. The bread was disappointing. They taste like ordinary dinner rolls that you get from the supermarket. It was still a very nice meal, but just not soooo good that I must return to this restaurant if I ever visit Whistler again.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank piggy10786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Great place, right in the square with beautiful outdoor dinning. Very pricey, but diverse menu. The "Small bites" are really a meal so that is a nice feature.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We traveled from Houston, Texas to attend this event and had an amazing time! Yes, we experienced a little wind and a short period of rain, but Neil Henderson and the Araxi staff handled the situtation superbly. The setting in the valley was breathtaking, the food and wine - wonderful, and oh yes, the music was a special addition to the festive atmosphere! A very special thanks to Chef James Walt - this event was one of the highlights of our 10-day trip to BC. We enloyed mingling with many of the other almost 400 gracious guests - and highly recommend attending this event in 2017!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flemingmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

You can't go wrong eating here. If you disagree you don't recognize great food and service. In the summer get a table outside on the patio unless there is a rock band in the plaza and you want to talk. 'Nuff said.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank gmartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.