We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning culinary destination”

Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Whistler Village Square
Description: The culinary cornerstone in the heart of Whistler Village, Araxi enjoys a long held international reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. As an early pioneer of farm to table dining, Executive Chef James Walt's seasonally focused menus celebrate the excellence of locally sourced ingredients. Walt's innovative and skillfully executed dishes-from savoury starters through delicious desserts-deliver intelligent compositions and unforgettable flavours. Centrally located in the main square of the village, Araxi boasts a contemporary dining room coloured in warm earth tones - and a sleek Oyster Bar that exudes the passion and craftsmanship that lie at the heart of the restaurant. The lively lounge, which features a year-round indoor/outdoor bar, is Whistler's favourite gathering place for both locals and visitors alike.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Award winning culinary destination”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Have been going to Araxi's for over a decade, though I do not dine here often, it is not because I do not want to... not sure my pocket book nor my heart could take it, but it is my choice for those really special night outs. The culinary creations are fantastic, impeccable wine list and the special care the bartenders take in creating some of the best martini's I have had. You can tell Chef James Walt runs a tight ship as the quality and consistency has always been there. I know what I am getting and proud to bring my friends here. Araxi is a huge supporter of the Whistler community as well as the LGBT community. Thank you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GayWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    441
    136
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oyster lovers delight and Excellent Venison.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Oysters are the freshest I;ve ever had. Multiple sizes available and tastiest..better than the east coast. Lovely atmosphere. Must make reservations on the weekends. We walked in at 9pm without an appointment and was seated - weekday. Food excellent, service terrific, and atmosphere good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Premier dining spot in heart of Whistler village”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Tremendous meal, exceptional wine list, fabulous wait staff; all ingredients sure to please the fanciest of pallets. A+

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Average”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visited Araxi for the first time recently, and were surprised by how average a meal it was. There were some highlights: their Oysters 5 Ways was interesting and tasty, and our desserts were delicious (Lemon Tart and the Pear Mousse). Our server was also very attentive and friendly, and his wine pairings were spot on. The restaurant itself also has a nice atmosphere - bustling, warm and cosy at the same time.

But overall the food was a bit of a let-down: The steak tartare was somewhat bland, and the Miso-crusted Sablefish was under seasoned and, oddly enough, I could barely taste the miso (weird, considering how strong and distinct the flavour of miso is). Although to be fair, the portion was very big and cooked perfectly. My husband had the scallops, which were also a little underwhelming, although again, the portion was large and the scallops cooked perfectly. We also had to wait for ages between our appetizers and entrees.

I wouldn't say we had a 'bad' meal at Araxi, but it certainly wasn't great either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metalkpretty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“all round excellent spot”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is an oyster bar, with Apres ski offers
There is friendly staff,
Knowledgeable Bar staff (BC Wines are brill and the selection here is great
Eve meal in the main restaurant was a pleasure, speed of service just right, options, care to detail, all in all a excellent experience at appropriate price, would put the whole experience in my top 30. highest 1%.
Sitting at a lively bar snacking on truffle popcorn, ordering a plate of oysters and drinking a crisp Chardonnay from the next valley is my idea of good après ski, add the excellent evening meal later in the week, makes this a venue to go to,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing