We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 190 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Whistler Village Square
Description: The culinary cornerstone in the heart of Whistler Village, Araxi enjoys a long held international reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. As an early pioneer of farm to table dining, Executive Chef James Walt's seasonally focused menus celebrate the excellence of locally sourced ingredients. Walt's innovative and skillfully executed dishes-from savoury starters through delicious desserts-deliver intelligent compositions and unforgettable flavours. Centrally located in the main square of the village, Araxi boasts a contemporary dining room coloured in warm earth tones - and a sleek Oyster Bar that exudes the passion and craftsmanship that lie at the heart of the restaurant. The lively lounge, which features a year-round indoor/outdoor bar, is Whistler's favourite gathering place for both locals and visitors alike.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The food, ambience, waiter and restaurant was excellent, we have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions and the food just gets better and better.
If you have time after skiing the cheese fondue, with apples and a portion of truffle chips is a must. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    446
    141
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best overall meal in Whistler.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Unfortunately we were both feeling a little unwell when we visited the araxi so didn't eat as much or as adventurously as normal but the service was first class, the food was beautiful and the meal represents some of the best value quisine we have tried anywhere, its a must.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterTomjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"The best restaurant ever"”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have to say that this was the best restaurant experience I have ever had. The food is phenomenal and the service exceptional ( our server was a classy, intelligent woman). I started with a sampler of oysters, then had wild sockeye salmon sashimi (the best sashimi by far) and as a main course I had an artic char. All was beautifully prepared and presented. However, for the desert, based on a recomendation of our server, I had their version of a lava cake, which was incredible, an absolute must!!!! P.S. They also had freshly made macaroons but I had no space left...:-(...next time, I hope... :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ciao050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went here for my birthday - beyond excellent service, beautiful local produce prepared with love and care, extensive wine list and even though it's crowded, you are treated like the most important person in the place. Loved it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkiMum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Whistler”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Araxi was the best restaurant in which we dined on a recent ski vacation in Whistler. The ambience was very nice, the menu extensive, the food well prepared, the service very good but our dinner was pricy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing