We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice for a special occasion”

Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 190 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Whistler Village Square
Description: The culinary cornerstone in the heart of Whistler Village, Araxi enjoys a long held international reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. As an early pioneer of farm to table dining, Executive Chef James Walt's seasonally focused menus celebrate the excellence of locally sourced ingredients. Walt's innovative and skillfully executed dishes-from savoury starters through delicious desserts-deliver intelligent compositions and unforgettable flavours. Centrally located in the main square of the village, Araxi boasts a contemporary dining room coloured in warm earth tones - and a sleek Oyster Bar that exudes the passion and craftsmanship that lie at the heart of the restaurant. The lively lounge, which features a year-round indoor/outdoor bar, is Whistler's favourite gathering place for both locals and visitors alike.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice choice for a special occasion”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Top-notch in every way. Great food - oysters, fish, ravioli; nice service, and beautiful surroundings. It is not inexpensive, but they do earn their reputation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    446
    141
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dis-Interested service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went for supperwith a group of a dozen of us. Selection on menu was good and interesting, but server(s) did not seem the least bit interested that we were there (throughout the evening it was as if he wanted to walk right by table but look right past us) - slow to get drinks, even slower to get appetizers and ultimately (as in much later) food . The food was good when it arrived but a lot of the group had lost their enthusiasm by then. Of the restaurants we had supper in while in Whistler, this was the only disappointment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple ridge
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service Alright.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have wanted to go to Araxi for years but always end up going somewhere else. We finally decided to go and they happened to have a price fix menu which we thought would be a great choice. The food was great but nothing over the top memorable and service was a bit lacking as it was pretty busy. We felt a bit close to our neighbors as well and they had young complaining children which didn't add to our experience. Overall It was a good meal but we were glad we hadn't paid the regular menu rate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMVP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A small group of us booked a table at Araxi, and with its reputation the meal was eagerly anticipated. Indeed the food was good, but it was completely spoiled but ultra-slow service. 8pm reservation, mains arrived at 10.10pm, did not manage to get away until after 11pm. I don't like rushed service, but this was beyond the pale. No apology from waiting staff, who could see how tired some of us were. Our wine was finished well before the end of the meal, but no offer of any complimentary drinks. Will not return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant. Take advantage of their specials.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Araxi was once owned by renown chef Gordon Ramsay. While it was owned by him I refused to go. Seen too many bad tempered chefs to know who does a good job and doesn't. Okay after that little rant the restaurant is easily one of the top two places to dine in Whistler. A great wine list, put together by 2013's sommelier of the year for Canada. The menu that regularly changes with interesting dishes with excellent balance.
The restaurant is a bit pricey however before the ski season gets into full swing and near the end of the season there are some great specials to be had. Four courses for $49.00 plus tip and tax this year. We dined there three times over November - December.
The bar is also worth a look and has a great atmosphere and some excellent cocktails.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing