We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 192 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Whistler Village Square
Description: The culinary cornerstone in the heart of Whistler Village, Araxi enjoys a long held international reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. As an early pioneer of farm to table dining, Executive Chef James Walt's seasonally focused menus celebrate the excellence of locally sourced ingredients. Walt's innovative and skillfully executed dishes-from savoury starters through delicious desserts-deliver intelligent compositions and unforgettable flavours. Centrally located in the main square of the village, Araxi boasts a contemporary dining room coloured in warm earth tones - and a sleek Oyster Bar that exudes the passion and craftsmanship that lie at the heart of the restaurant. The lively lounge, which features a year-round indoor/outdoor bar, is Whistler's favourite gathering place for both locals and visitors alike.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice...I had the Haida Gwai halibut, my wife had a 6 ounce steak which was one of the best I've ever eaten (we share). The server was one of the best I've seen. Expert on wine and she steered us to a really nice riesling. They have a fantastic wine list. First class experience and well worth it...great staff...loved it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmc19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,322
    454
    143
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Food Experience in my life”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My sister told me that the Chef at ARAXI was trained by Gordon Ramsay, so going there, I was already on high expectation.. I was WOWed by the food... my order was Fresh Oysters, Risotto with Prawn and Scallop, and Canadian Cheese Plater... Everything was soo good and beautifully presented.. In fact everybody in our party finished their food, nothing was left behind.. Super fresh products, super tasty.. Definitely the highlight of my visit to Whistler. The staff was friendly, quick and attentive.., great product knowledge, great service.. If you visit Whistler, do make a reservation at this restaurant, you will not regret it... The price is on the high side, but its so worth it... Wish I could come back soon, but living so far away in Indonesia..that's a little difficult.. but I will...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EJoesoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was here during Dine In Whistler Week...Perfect culinary experience for the taste buds! The beef tenderloin---melt in your mouth amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misslady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booked table for fixed price five course meal. Needed to book as very busy. Food was absolutely first class, service was excellent, very attentive waiting staff. Would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This amazing Restaurant is worth the trip to Whistler...one of the highlights of the area for those of us who do not ski.
Dine In Whistler, an annual event with Araxi joining for their Anniversary Celebration, is the perfect time to enjoy the chef,s creations at a fabulous price!!! Why would you cook hamburgers on the BBQ when you could go out?
The five course meal was enjoyed by many, it was noisy, full of energy and a wonderful, light hearted dinner that the server went beyond good service...he got the chefs to write Happy Birthday in chocolate my friend,s dessert plate...a Wow for sure!
Araxi....a reason to visit Whistler every year!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Camphouseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Araxi Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing