We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday meal”

Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 99
Transit: Reliable and frequent local transit service will drop you conveniently at our driveway.
Description: In its 23rd year, the Rimrock Café has delighted diners with its innovative, fresh cuisine and emphasis on the finest fish and game, artfully prepared with inventiveness and flair. The restaurant is consistently recognized as a local’s favorite for atmosphere, service and a sublime eating experience. Behind the large glass window of our lit cellar, all manner of wines from the glamorous and recognizable to the intriguing and new seem to hum seductively. Two fireplaces cast an ambient glow over the chatter and energy of our rustic dining room. In summer, enjoy your meal on a sunny patio. The seafood antipasto for two is the perfect start to your meal. Stunning presentation meets succulent, vibrant flavor among the six exquisite tasters. Try our Venison tenderloin, served with a porcini cream and homemade spatzle. For the seafood lover, our main course Trio is a harmony of seared Ahi, nut crusted Sablefish and grilled prawns. Complete your meal with Whistler's favorite desert.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The food was amazing as usual. Not many restaurants can maintain such high quality over so many years. We enjoyed every minute of our visit. A perfect family birthday for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,146
    179
    55
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Customer Service and Food”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had a meal here at the start of March 2014 for my Dad's 60th Birthday. The customer service was excellent from booking to finishing the meal, i dropped off the previous day some decorations and the staff had kindly decorated the table for us and arranged a beautiful birthday cake. The food was wonderful and very reasonable price. 100% would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a most excellent meal in Rim Rock. Over dinner, we went for a mixture of sea-food and red-meat all of which was cooked with style and aplomb. We enjoyed and our dinner and unhesitatingly recommend that you try it, the best food we had in Whistler by some margin. A comprehensive wine list also awaits you, so you should be able to find something you like, we did, even with our eclectic tastes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good, but very expensive”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Although we've been to Whistler many times we've never been to RimRock before, simply because it's in Creekside so needs a cab to get there. This time we thought we'd give it a go, and the cab was only about $14 inc. tip each way and doesn't take long at all.

The restaurant itself (definitely not a cafe, despite the name!) was very cosy and had a great atmosphere, buzzy without being loud. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful so no complaints there at all.

For starters, we had the celeriac soup with fried foie gras and the carpaccio of beef tenderloin. Both these dishes were absolutely top-quality, with the soup being very smooth and flavoursome and the beef being raw (rather than smoked as we've had before) and cut astonishingly thinly. Both highly recommended.

For mains, I had the venison which was very nice although I wasn't overwhelmed by the spatzle (just personal preference) and my wife had the fish special, which was halibut with a spinach and mushroom risotto.

The meal was very nice indeed, but came at a cost of $265 for 2 (with 1 bottle of wine), so definitely one for a special occasion!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanCMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Food were great - oysters / fish were awesome. Environment was great and staff super friendly. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is going to Creekside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing