We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar

Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 99
Transit: Reliable and frequent local transit service will drop you conveniently at our driveway.
Description: In its 23rd year, the Rimrock Café has delighted diners with its innovative, fresh cuisine and emphasis on the finest fish and game, artfully prepared with inventiveness and flair. The restaurant is consistently recognized as a local’s favorite for atmosphere, service and a sublime eating experience. Behind the large glass window of our lit cellar, all manner of wines from the glamorous and recognizable to the intriguing and new seem to hum seductively. Two fireplaces cast an ambient glow over the chatter and energy of our rustic dining room. In summer, enjoy your meal on a sunny patio. The seafood antipasto for two is the perfect start to your meal. Stunning presentation meets succulent, vibrant flavor among the six exquisite tasters. Try our Venison tenderloin, served with a porcini cream and homemade spatzle. For the seafood lover, our main course Trio is a harmony of seared Ahi, nut crusted Sablefish and grilled prawns. Complete your meal with Whistler's favorite desert.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a spectacular dinner (again) at the Rim Rock. We have dined at the Rim Rock over the past 25 years and marvel at the consistency of their cuisine. Every course is a culinary triumph. Well done, we will be back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    174
    51
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Dining Experience in Whistler!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Rim Rock has very limited seating...so reservations are a must! As the dining room is small, the ambience and service are second to none!

All aspects are first class!...the reception, menu, the wine list...but most of all, the outstanding preparation of the meal! We shared a wonderful Ceaser Salad..for the main, my bride selected the Grilled Salmon, accompanied with a lemon beurre blanc and fresh veggies. For me...the Filet Mignon with gorgonzola butter and the mashed!...both excellent!

After my wife had her chocolate heaven for dessert, we settled back with a Latte for her and a Cointreu (or three) for me! Luckily, it was a short walk to Evolution in Creekside!

As the Food Network program exclaims!..."you gotta eat here!!"

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently the best restaurant experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We've been going to The Rim Rock Cafe for a number of years now and no matter what we order, the food is truly incredible as is the service. This is hands down the best restaurant in Whistler, well worth the price.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth. West Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“still a exceptional restaurant after 7 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I escorted four Australian friends,their Japanese ski instructor and his Taiwanese girlfriend to Rimrock for dinner here.We have been going there for the past seven years and it is always exceptional.Every one was very impressed, the food was exceptional, the ambience perfect, the lighting just right (I normally carry a torch in my pocket for dark restaurants to read the menu, it wasnt needed). Thank you Rimrock see you next year.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More light please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Visited the Rimrock in March 2012 after reading rave reviews. There were three of us, we had the venison, the duck and the seafood pot au feu, food was good but it was so dark at our table it was difficult to see what we were eating, a shame when one is paying so much. A disappointing experience whcih we will not be repeating.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayJayYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing