We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the middle of the hub bub”
Review of Nita Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nita Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the middle of the hub bub”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We went to celebrate the wedding of a friend. Our rooms were modern and clean. The lake view rooms were worth the extra money.
The weather was warm allowing for comfortable seating outside. We ate Charcuterie, bread & cheese & wine for lunch one afternoon, then had a splendid dinner in the hotel restaurant. I would recommend the Tasting Menu and have it paired with appropriate wines - marvellous.
The hotel had a dozen or more bikes which can be used on a first come basis. As the Valley Trail runs outside the hotel, it's a wonderful way to spend a few hours cycling (or walking) around the lakes then up to Blackcomb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    289
    70
    21
    10
See reviews for
395
1,122
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Had an amazing time getting away from the city for the weekend and staying at Nita Lake Lodge. The hotel provided curtious hospitality and the rooms were very comfortable and well kept. Dinner at their Aura restaurant was probably the best meal I've had in a very long time, and my fiance and I can't stop talking about it.
We are both very excited to go back and visit again in October!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Away from the bustle of Whistler. Room was lovely with huge bath tub. Unfortunately the weather was wet so didn't get much of a view. We only stayed the one night so ate in the restaurant. Food was very good. We had a free breakfast coupon (printed from tripadvisor site). The only negative point was having to pay for parking, as the resort is out of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The perfect place to enjoy Whistler without being stuck in the noise and bustle of the village. We were there for a week in August to enjoy the alpine hiking.

Nita Lake Lodge is located in a quiet little neighbourhood just a three minute drive outside the main ski village, backing onto Nita Lake. The village has constant hustle and bustle - it's become a busy, noisy, crowded place. But at the Lodge, it's like being in a remote mountain chalet. Yes, there are other residences on the lake, but not many, mostly individual private homes, and everyone there seems to appreciate the peace. Not to mention the beautiful view of the lake and the mountains from lake-side rooms.

And the proprietors seem to understand that this is one of the prime attractions of their hotel. One night they had a musician on the resturant patio, and someone remarked that the music, although nice, had gone on a bit late and was a bit loud. If people wanted to stay in a place with constant music blaring, they'd have stayed in the village. The next day the entertainment was moved inside, leaving just a faint and pleasant lilt in the air on your balcony that could easily be shut out by closing the window. Perfect.

Now, there is the train - the train station is actually attached to the hotel - but, frankly, we barely noticed it. There are, after all, only a couple of trains a day that pass through, and we noticed no night trains. And it was somehow romantic to have a mountain train go by.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, immaculately clean, like it was built yesterday. We had a lakeside bachelor room. Nicely sized, not huge, but very liveable for two for a week. Floor to ceiling wall-to-wall sliding glass patio doors gave a great view. (Note - not all bachelors have this, make sure when checking in.) The stone fireplace set the tone of the room. The bathroom is stunningly done in natural stone. The 'kitchenette' is really an armoire-sized cupboard - fine for making morning coffee and a bowl of cereal, or your backpack sandwiches, or microwave a bowl of soup, but not a lot more.

There are two restaurants and a coffee shop. The two restaurants have a truly wonderful patio overlooking the lake. It's idyllic. But the menus posed us a problem. I'm sure the main dining room's food is very nice, but it seemed seriously overpriced (and probably why it was mostly empty). No problem you say, try the grill which is much more reasonably priced (and even then, $16 hamburgers...) - except they seem to be trying too hard to be fancy to justify the price. When at the end of a long day of hiking you just want a nice meaty hamgburger, they've got it all fancied-up with a bunch of spices that over-powered the meat. Just serve me some meat and potatoes at a reasonable price, thanks. So we ended up eating outside the hotel most dinners. Alternatives in the hotel's neighbourhood are slim - a pretty down-scale pizza place, a place up the hill near the lifts that is very reasonably priced and serves good food but is constantly blaring obnoxious music to cater to the cool-dudes crowd, and another seriously overpriced steak place. So we usually had dinner in the village before returning to the hotel for the evening.

But there is a great little grocery store just across the street that has pretty much everything and kept us supplied in hiking-sandwich-making materials.

The hotel provides an on-demand shuttle service to and from the village. "Shuttle" meaning a friendly driver and a car. Just call the front desk any time with a little notice, and they're happy to drive you back and forth. This was a highly appreciated service that made having a car of our own useless. Might as well take the bus or the train up from Vancouver and skip having a rental car.

Outside the hotel, this gave us just the walking experience we were looking for. We're hikers and backpackers from way back, but we were looking this time for something a lot more civilized, and we got it. The ski lifts whisk you to the top of the mountain so you can enjoy high elevation hiking without having the approach to climb. The "hiking trails" are really just minor trails around the rim of the moutain. You're almost never out of sight of lifts or stations, and many of the "trails" are really the service roads for the ski operation. Interior trekking it's not. But it is a way to enjoy the alpine air and views without organizing a major expedition.

There are hiking trails on the opposite side of the valley too - no lifts, no services - much more "wild", that we enjoyed for one day of getting away from the crowds. But take care - they're really poorly marked. We spent much of the day wondering which trail we were actually on.

Very worthwhile is the 20 minute walk down the walking path that passes right under the hotel balconies to the next lake over. There's a fabulous park with a sandy beach. The water is cool, but not fridgid, and it's a lovely swim surrounded by all those mountain peaks. On a warm sunny day there were people, but it wasn't packed.

In all, if we were to return to Whistler (and we most likely will), this would be the only place we'd consider staying at. Clean, luxurious, and the most beautiful, peaceful setting in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-B_early_retirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed for our one year anniversary and we could not have asked for anything more (except to go back in winter so we can ski/snowboard)!

Room:
We were on the top floor in a lake view studio suite, the room was really nice with high ceilings, LCD tv, fire place, balcony and a great bathroom with a big shower and soaker tub. Only issue is that we could hear kids next door.

Restaurant:
Breakfast was great (except that they have foie gras on the menu). For dinner we opted to have the five course dinner and a bottle of wine. The food was outstanding from the first course to the last and the staff were very friendly. We wanted to sit on the patio so they set up heaters and a table and brought a blanket for my wife when it got cold. Again the food was great!

The location is also very nice becuase it is quiet and secluded, but still close to the village.

Definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I picked Nita Lake Lodge based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. The location overlooking a small tranquil lake about 10 minutes outside Whistler Village is lovely. We had a studio room on the top floor. The room was spacious and well laid out. The small mini kitchen was nice to have, it included a microwave, coffee making items, small refrigerator and sink. The bathroom was spacious with both a shower and separate tub. There was a long countertop with one sink. There was alot of closet and shelf space in the room. There is a nice trail along about half the lake, which eventually takes you into Whistler.

The negatives really overshadowed the postives during our visit. The hotel staff was very unwelcoming and we saw no signs of hospitality throughout our 3 night stay. Never once from any of the 8 or so staff we dealt with, did we hear a Good Morning or welcome greeting. They were all defensive when we asked for something. I agree with the reviewer in August from London. We had a problem getting decaf coffee. There was one packet of regular coffee in the room. Each day we had to ask for a packet of decaf. The last day the guy from guest services said they don't put decaf in the rooms because most people do not use it and it goes bad. Interesting since it is in a vacuum sealed packet. After 3 calls, (they first delivered more regular coffee) we got a small amount of loose decaf in a paper cup. As the previous reviewer mentionned the lighting is poor and it's difficult to read; we had to put 2 table lamps together so that I of us could read.The cabinets throughout are a dark brown and the bath tile is also dark; the lighting is very minimal and does not compensate for the dark feeling of the interior. The interior could use some R & R as many cabinets were in need of some TLC. Probably the most ridiculous thing was the TV. We could not get the channel changer to work; we called guest services and after an hour no one arrived. We called back and was told the staff person was at lunch, this was at 8pm. When he arrived he said, oh, you have to point the remote at the wall above the bed, not at the TV. We asked why the TV instructions for this room did not indicate that, he laughed and left. No apology. Parking is $20.00 a day plus BC tax. Upon check out, I discovered that we had paid $170.00 more by booking on Expedia, as it appeared the hotel had dropped their rates since the time I had reserved with Expedia. We had such an unfavorable impression of the staff, we did not try the restaurant; instead we ate elsewhere. There is also a train which runs nearby a few times a day which insists on using their horn, even at 12:30am. We fault the management of the hotel for a lack of attention to some basic hospitality issues and staff training.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Though not directly in Whistler village, this wonderful boutique hotel is only a 5min drive away, and set directly on a peaceful, forested lake.
We were booked into a 1-bedroom suite on the ground floor, and we had our little dog with us - it is only $25 extra to bring your pet. We have been to much worse hotels that charged $100 or more for pets. The rooms are huge with high ceilings, fireplace, two tvs, and a luxurious bathroom with hot tub built for two. We were overlooking the lake and even though our suite was quite close to the restaurant, it was peacefully quiet all the time.
The service at the Aria restaurant is a little naive at times, but they seem to be trying their best and are full of smiles even with little mixups. However, the food is quite delicious and the setting is pleasant and peaceful.
The value of their packages is excellent and we have already booked our second stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burninatorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
831 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nita Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nita Lake Lodge

Property: Nita Lake Lodge
Address: 2131 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#2 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nita Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of a stunning glacier-fed lake in Whistler BC, we offer unique and authentic moments on every occasion. Join us at Nita Lake Lodge to experience a fresh take on classic whistler hospitality. Impossible to imitate; our oversized suites, a full-service spa , and innovative local cuisine are just the beginning. Discover how our genuine service with a personal touch will elevate your whistler experience. Take our courtesy shuttle for a short ride or wonder along the lake side trail to the heart of Whistler. Located in the village of Creekside, we are only 500 metres from the base of Whistler Mountain and the Creekside gondola. After a day of Whistler adventures return to your unique lakeside retreat. Named in the top 25 hotels in Canada by TripAdvisor year after year, Nita Lake Lodge proudly re-defines upscale mountain comfort all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nita Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nita Lake Hotel Whistler
Nita Lake Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing