We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but not exactly 'luxury'”
Review of Nita Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nita Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but not exactly 'luxury'”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I feel slightly torn with my rating of this hotel but I must also give it my honest review.

Granted we were only here for one night and perhaps a longer stay would've warranted a more satisfactory experience.

The Nita Lake Lodge is a beautiful property away from the village and if one is definitely looking for serenity and relaxation in Whistler summertime, this is an ideal property.

The pluses:
One bedroom was quite spacious and I liked the cabinet with a hidden wet bar. Mini-fridge, plates, cutlery, glasses even a micro-wave.
Air-conditioning was very quiet.
Bed was very comfortable.
Towels were very thick and plush.
4-piece bath and a soaker tub can comfortably fit two adults.
Fix Cafe is a wonderful coffee shop and not your average coffee shop serving a multitude of pastries, bread option.
The Lake with complimentary canoe, equipment. Also complimentary bikes and they even provide a chariot for toddlers.

The weak points:
I base this on the fact that Nita Lake Lodge does market itself as a 'luxury' property but there seems to be the basic services & room amenities lacking for a luxury hotel.

Parking. You are given an option of a self-park at $20.00 or valet parking for $30.00 although the reality I think is that there is no valet/porter service. There is really nobody at the door to welcome or assist unless you request it. So they have a luggage trolley on each floor for guests to look after their luggage. $20 for self-parking seem to be steep considering that this is a property not situated at the Whistler Village. I think parking should just be extended free.
Bathrobes are provided but no slippers No dental kit. One bar of soap. No shower gel. Slippers and dental kit can always be requested but again these are amenities you expect to find as part of a room set-up in any luxury property. There is a stationary but no pens. Maybe it was just overlooked. From my perspective though, and I maybe completely wrong here, this was the company's way of cutting cost.
They have a full service, fine dining restaurant Aura but what is odd is that they do not have In-Room-Dining. Or perhaps I just assumed this. Perhaps I should have called down and inquired? But then basing on the room directory, there was nothing listed for in-room-dining. They do advertise the Spa. So we had to call and order pick-up from Boston Pizza over at creekside.

So to my fellow-travellers who are considering this hotel, please do. Do not be discouraged by my account. We still had a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room lake-view. Our room was 'mountain view' but it had more of the view of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyonJune10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    293
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
405
1,130
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Nita Lake for one night and it was wonderful. King Studio Suite was huge, with a small patio off the room. Went for a (cold) swim in the gorgeous lake, and make good use of the local running/walking trails in the morning. Staff was very helpful, and while the parking fee seemed unnecessary ($20 to self park, when the hotel wasn't busy at all), we got a great rate (prices are much lower in summer than in winter).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nitka Lake Lodge is away from the busyness of the Whistler village, and offers a beautiful location amongst a chain of small lakes south of the core. This provides great views from patios and lakefront rooms. Paved walking trails connect the communities of Whistler. Service and food are excellent. Aura Restaurant is a destination in itself. Rooms are large and nicely appointed. French press coffee in the AM is nice change from anemic little drip machines. The hotel offers equipment for fun on the water, or bicycles. Book early. A free and flexible shuttle make getting around easy; staff very helpful. Rim Rock cafe is an easy walk; also shops and Starbucks. Pub & wine store next door.

Room Tip: Lake views cost more, but worth it. The hotel is adjacent to the railway and serves as station to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the room, to the view, to the food, to the service, I can't imagine it being any better. They even had a shuttle to take us to the main village for an excursion we had booked. And it was SO quiet at night. Can't believe it was such a high class resort, yet so serene. And when you take into account all the free items, such as the bikes and water crafts, it was a quite reasonable rate. Next time we want to take the train there, as there's a station right at the hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed the location - looking out at the lake from the patio. Was a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay here again. Everyone was very helpful from the front desk to the gentlemen who shuttled us back and forth to the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1947Sue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tucked unassumingly away in Creekside, this resort is a perfect weekend getaway from Vancouver. The studio suite was very well appointed with a fireplace, large sitting area & heated floors in the bathroom. Decor, namely the use of fir & slate, actually reminded me of the Wickaninnish Inn in Tofino, one of my favourite hotels. Being a mountain resort property, there are not some of the same city amenities like a desk & newspapers, however, that lends towards the mantra of getting away from it all. The Fix Cafe has quality baked goods & specialty coffees for very decent prices. Extra amenities like complimentary kayaks, a canoe, & paddleboards as well as bicycles to take on the valley trail add value.

Room Tip: ask for a studio suite overlooking the lake with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforlife777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I couldn't afford much time away from our jobs, so we decided to book a night at Nita Lake Lodge in Whistler, an hour or so north of Vancouver.

From the minute we arrived, we knew we wouldn't want to leave anytime soon. The staff at the front desk was inviting and helpful. The lodge surprised us with complimentary chocolates and a "happy honeymoon" card upon our arrival into the room. The view was spectacular! The lake was absolutely stunning, and it was all visible from the comfort of the king bed.

Although we didn't indulge in the spa, we walked the grounds and spent a wonderful evening enjoying a late-summer night storm on the covered patio.

The food at Aura in the morning was to die for! I absolutely recommend the banana bread french toast! And with more stunning views of the great outdoors, it never felt as though we were truly inside.

Will be back for our one year anniversary, you can count on that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,730 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nita Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nita Lake Lodge

Property: Nita Lake Lodge
Address: 2131 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#2 Family Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#3 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nita Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of a stunning glacier-fed lake in Whistler BC, we offer unique and authentic moments on every occasion. Join us at Nita Lake Lodge to experience a fresh take on classic whistler hospitality. Impossible to imitate; our oversized suites, a full-service spa , and innovative local cuisine are just the beginning. Discover how our genuine service with a personal touch will elevate your whistler experience. Take our courtesy shuttle for a short ride or wonder along the lake side trail to the heart of Whistler. Located in the village of Creekside, we are only 500 metres from the base of Whistler Mountain and the Creekside gondola. After a day of Whistler adventures return to your unique lakeside retreat. Named in the top 25 hotels in Canada by TripAdvisor year after year, Nita Lake Lodge proudly re-defines upscale mountain comfort all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nita Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nita Lake Hotel Whistler
Nita Lake Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing