We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Decent value but Renos needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunpath at Stoney Creek

Sunpath at Stoney Creek
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunpath at Stoney Creek
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Whistler
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
“Decent value but Renos needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked online thru a management group but inexplicably it was cancelled. Helpful clerk found another similar rental but it must have been the 'last resort' suite: peeling hardwood floor, broken dishwasher, taps and toilet that keep running! Rooms stifling hot in the summer (no A/C) and opening windows lets in the revelry noise from the communal pool.
On the plus, side, fine location and good price.
Condo owners should really take some pride in their investment.
Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues - stairs galore.

Room Tip: Be away from pool, if you like peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We wholeheartedly recommend this Whistler village condo and we can't wait to come back again! I wish our stay was longer! The condo is located in the main Whistler village in a PRIMO location (lower Whistler village) with easy access to everything: the village restaurants, the IGA grocery store, the paved biking trails that go everywhere, the peak to peak gondola, etc.

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, having lived in the Middle East and him being from Holland, and I have seen a lot of hotels and vacation resorts. Based on our travel experience, we can say this place is truly awesome! And we would stay again in a heartbeat!

The Greens have the condo organized to a "T" and there is everything you need in the condo to have a relaxing stay. Not one detail is overlooked. We cooked every night in the kitchen and were able to make meals we would also make at home. There are high-end appliances and equipment throughout the entire condo: microwave, stove, dishwasher, washer/dryer, stereo, tvs, dvd players, BBQ, etc. There is even a shoe warmer! I can say we felt right at home.

The Greens also went out of their way to get us special treats and food that are in line with my dietary restrictions. When we arrived there were Gluten free Trader Joe pancakes waiting for us as well as other nice snacks I could eat! The Green were also very proactive in answering questions we had before and during our stay.

Traveling tips: If you are not into mountain biking still bring some street bikes because there are miles and miles of paved trails. There is a great place in the underground parking to safely and securely park street bikes. I would avoid the Ancient Cedars trail at Cougar Mountain- we got eaten alive by mosquitos. Or bring some serious bug spray. The Joffre Lakes hike is amazing as well as Nairn Falls! Tons of amazing hiking trails in the summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinANDMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely everything we needed provided ...adequate storage and for the week we were there it felt like home in a way a hotel never could. Five adults ..we had plenty of room and found everything in a very convenient walking distance. Loved the big spa pool after skiing ...would recommend for anyone who wanted a nice but not luxurious holiday. The place internalky was a bit dated but really everything worked, it was comfortable and we loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This unit is a 3 bedroom condo. We had three couples each with one baby. You could not set up a pack-n-play crib in any of the rooms as there was only 1-3 feet of space around the beds in each room. So, one couple had to rent a whole other condo.

The unit itself is visually nice, comfy, and excellent location. The rooms were just way smaller than expected. I would stay here again, but only with one other couple even though it is a 3 bedroom.

Room Tip: Be aware that you need to walk up a flight of stairs in the condo to get to the living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLFreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For 20 years I've been going to Whistler every winter, for the last ten every summer as well. I finally found a place I'd never stay again- Sunpath Stoney Creek #41.
The mattresses are worn out and flat.
The highway is right outside your bedroom window.
No WiFi- who the hell travels with a lap top anymore?
1 fry pan 1 sauce pan and a huge stock pot- Not easy to fix dinner for 4.
No plastic cups to take beverages to the pool area.
The hot water tank is set so low you can only get a Luke WARM SHOWER. Not fun after snowboarding for 5 hours.

One positive is that it is close to village- 6 minute walk. I can only imagine that these are individually owned and this units owner never stays there. Otherwise these things wouldn't be so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in Unit 49, a ground floor, single-story, two-bedroom unit the week of Feb 7, 2013.

We are a family of 4 – two adults, two teenagers. First and foremost, Brenda from Stoney Creek Property management was very helpful. We had both her and her husband’s cell numbers. Prior to our arrival, she was exceptionally patient as I grilled her on details of the various Stoney Creek complexes. I had stayed in several of them over the years with friends, but could not remember which was which (ie. We wanted to make sure the teenagers had access to a hot tub and that we were close to town so they would not have to worry about catching a bus from one of the other areas).

GENERAL:

-Location! Location! Location! Less than a 10 minute walk the lifts, a 2- minute walk to several restaurants, right at the edge of the village. A couple blocks from the grocery store. And SUPER easy to get in/out of (you don’t have to drive through a crowded village area with lots of pedestrians).

-The unit is small, but very well laid out. It was clean and tidy when we checked in. A bench in the entryway helped it stay this way (we didn’t allow outdoor shoes in the unit).

- While the kitchen was basic, it was exceptionally functional with more room than I would have thought possible in what looks to be an 8’x10’ area. I also liked that it was a light/bright color. Makes finding spills and clean-up easier. The kitchen is stocked with everything you might need for a week or two away from home.

-FREE underground parking in secured area. The parking stalls are very narrow and the height limit is 6’10” (so measure your vehicle with its ski box before you leave home!). A Subaru will have no trouble getting into any of the parking spots, but I would be hard pressed to get my Honda Ridgeline into Spot 84 (do-able, but very difficult, especially if there is a vehicle next to it). It's also super easy to pop down to the garage once you realize there is a little footpath (snow) down the hill in front of the unit that pops you out just one side of the front of the garage (and your parking stall is only 2 deep into the parking area.. no need to walk all the way around.).

-The exterior door to the unit has a push-button entry, which meant with 4 people coming and going, we did not have to worry about who had the key (or who lost it).

-It was nice that there were a few staples on hand: salt, pepper, spices, foil, plastic wrap, a couple days’ worth of coffee, dish washer powder, dish detergent, new scrubby sponge, little bottles of hair shampoo, conditioner, and tiny bars of soap (important to know if you’re flying in).

-Washer/drier in unit (you must use liquid detergent). No detergent s provided, so if you’re driving up, bring it as it is extremely expensive in the market.

-The master might be a bit roomier if there was a way to remove the footboard on the bed (did not pull it apart to see if there were side rails joined to it). The layout otherwise was great. Plenty of room, a closet, an on-suite bath.

-Master bed is very firm with a topper

-There is a local phone in the unit (so you don’t have to pay exorbitant roaming fees if you want to call a restaurant for reservations)

-Extra towels are located in each bathroom

-Quiet location (as pool guests and neighbors were considerate about the noise level).


Minor complaints:

-Some of the dishes were not clean… things like lipstick stains, pots not thoroughly washed, but they were very easily remedied.

-There was no hair dryer, but Brenda brought over a brand new one shortly after we called her to let her know the unit was missing one

-The bedroom with two twin beds is very tight. But the kids each had their own “area” and they were able to make due with no issues. They were also able to walk out the slider in their room to see if the hot tub was available (that belongs in the “plus” category).

-Remotes for the TV need better instructions (took the nephew a while to figure out how to get the cable to turn on .. box was on.. but something had to be tweaked).

Conclusion:
This is a great little unit. I would not hesitate to rent it again. And while it might seem to some folks that Stoney Creek is expensive, just consider that the average dinner out for four people will run well over $100 (and that's the more reasonable places), breakfasts at least $50-$60. If you pack a lunch, you can easily save another $60. You're in even better shape if you bring groceries from outside the village (that said, we discovered this great little organic market just across the street and around the block that was far more affordable and fresh than the grocery stores). Wish I knew the name of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RileyDawg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here from Jan 29 - Feb 6 2013 and was more than happy with our choice.

The condo is on the ground floor and right at the end so is nicely secluded from any noise. It is only a few minutes walk to the centre of the village and a few more to the gondolas, nothing too far after a long days boarding. The condo itself is equipped with everything required for a pleasant stay and the ability to cook your own meals is a real money saver. Whistler itself is a very expensive resort (never found a steak for less than $45) to eat out so I would highly recommend renting a condo compared to a hotel.

With one separate bedroom and a pull out sofa bed, sleep quality was excellent.

If I had one problem it would be the plumbing, needs a plumber to have a look and figure out what all the squeaking is about when the shower is running. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#26 of 51 in Whistler
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carleton Lodge
Carleton Lodge
#23 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Whistler Luxury Condos
#46 of 51 in Whistler
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunpath at Stoney Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunpath at Stoney Creek

Property: Sunpath at Stoney Creek
Address: 4325 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunpath at Stoney Creek 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunpath at Stoney Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunpath Stoney Creek Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing