We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired place but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables
1 review
“Tired place but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Unit 9. Check in is a bit of a challenge at Blackcomb Lodge which is not easy to find for the Whistler uninitiated. The location is a short walk to skiing (5 min or so to either base) and this is the best feature of the unit- but not ski in or out. There are no additional features such as a pool or hot tub.

The unit was ok but definitely tired & dated. There were doors missing from bathroom cupboards, from closets and mold on the main bathroom ceiling. The bathroom fixtures were very dated and falling apart (the shower door, handles on the very dated and small "whirl pool tub" and cracked fixtures in the powder room). The shower/bathtub is actually difficult to get in & out. The main bedroom was reasonable & comfortable but the second was very small & claustrophobic with no window and an uncomfortable bed.

The kitchen was reasonably appointed but very second rate and limited utensils, pots & pans & cutlery. It would be a small investment to remedy this.

Parking is a little bit of a hike from the unit (although not unreasonable).

Overall I was disappointed as a middle aged professional and would seek other accommodation or our next Whistler visit.


Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

No issues at all with condo itself - warm and pleasant and quiet. Close to both sets of lifts and not far to the shopping.

My biggest issue was the checkin arrangements. There isn't anything on site, so checkin occured down the road at the Glacier Lodge. I arrived via bus about 7pm - in the dark, and it was snowing heavily.

If you don't have a car, you are required to cart all you gear about 400 metres to the lodge. I was given poor instructions, and ended up a bit lost in the dark. Extremely annoying. I'd be very concerned about families, or females on their own.

Make sure you understand the drop off arrangements. According to my bus company (pacific coast lines) plans, they were meant to check me in, then drop me to The Gables. Never happened.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

A group of nine of us stayed in Gables #17 for one week at the end of January. I was a little concerned after reading previous reviews but it really was not that bad at all. The condo could not be better positioned and was about equal distance from both the base of Blackcomb and Whistler (about a two minute walk). It was also very quiet. A brief outline of the condo – ground floor had a small kitchen, dining room table and sitting room with one large three seater sofa (folded into a bed if needed) and three easy chairs. It also had a bathroom with a shower (no tub). On the second floor there was a further bathroom with a shower over a tub and three bedrooms – one queen, one twin and one bunk bedded room. On the third floor was a room with three single beds. Although the condo was not ‘wow’ it was perfectly comfortable, clean and reasonably well maintained. For a group of friends who are simply into skiing/snowboarding it is perfect but for couples it might not quite so great due to the sleeping arrangements although the single beds could be pushed together if need be. It would be perfect if the rooms had larger beds that could be split if needed to suit all needs. The condo also had a code entry, which eliminated the need for a key, which is great as no need to worry about who carries a key/s and anybody can return to the condo at any time. I wanted to mention the previous reviewer BlackBerryLarry, who was very helpful at answering my questions and also wanted to comment/follow on from his review: the beds were quite comfortable, no feather duvets or 200 thread count sheets but we had no problems and were zonked after a day’s skiing anyway! The lighting was not great and seemed oddly set up as did the TV on the wall – very small TV with cables hanging down. The bedrooms could have also benefited with some mirrors (the main queen had one but that was it I think). We did not cook in the condo or use the dining room table so I really cannot comment on those things. I must agree with BlackBerryLarry on the lack of Wi Fi; this is easy to set up and something the owners should perhaps consider. We were able to leave out skis etc in the porch area, which was fine although many of us hired lockers at the base of Whistler to save walking in ski boots. All in all I would recommend Gables #17, I know you are paying for the location but if it was given some TLC and Wi Fi it could be even better!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spacecadetgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at The Gables, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Gables #17 and want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. You pointed out many of the positives of the Gables complex including the convenient walk to the ski lifts and both the Whistler village and 'upper' village. I agree the location can't be beat if you want to be near everything but just outside of the village area. This results in a usually quiet environment.

I am pleased to say that the room does now include complimentary WIFI and there will be some touch ups done this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

First let me be sure to explain that many (though probably still most) of these complaints would not be levelled at a place priced more modestly. But at $1200/night, things should be pretty darn nice. Things should be very smartly turned out, I should think. But they are definitely not that! ...

We are staying at #17. A four bedroom unit. So we pay more for that. Fair enough. And we're here right after Christmas - so the most expensive time. All that said…

. bed sheets with holes in them
. poor quality and very hard foam pillows
. living room lighting - very poor.
. tables and lamps seriously compromised by a poorly installed *small* flat screen tv (mounted *way* too high) putting other components (dvd, etc) on an end table (so now it can no longer be used as intended/needed) - why not just use a proper tv stand?
. no throw blankets in living room
. kitchen utensils completely inadequate. Not even a pair of scissors, no sharp knives, no baking sheets (who would not want to make cookies on a ski trip?!), far too few glasses for a place billed as appropriate for 9 people (we're only five and there's not nearly enough).
. while the table/dinning area might look nice, it is really awkward. The table is far too big for such a small area. Seating for eight, but much too crowded.
. kitchen designed for one (small) person to be there at a time. (for a four bedroom unit, this is rather odd!)
. oven takes a ridiculously long time to come up to temperature (>30 min 375)
. oven door handle nearly falling off
. toaster designed for mini loaves only
. coffee maker (and toaster) is the cheapest and poorest quality unit I've ever come across
. for such an expensive place, I'd like to see *some* staples supplied - coffee filters, salt/pepper would go a long way. Maybe a little olive oil & and some vinegar? who wants to buy these for a short stay?
. And! What's this? - in 2011, at this price and there is no Wi-Fi?!!
. very poor quality bathrooms - shower curtain is heavy stiff plastic, tub and facet a mess and of poor quality
. no secure ski lockup! They ask, "don't leave skis in the unit", but there is no secure place outside to leave them.

At $400 or $500/night I would find this poor, but probably not comment on it. But at the prices they are asking, I'm very, very disappointed.

On the plus side of the equation - it is very close to the lifts, only a short, easy walk to the upper village and just a couple minutes more to the main village. This is nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlackBerryLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We'd love to love this place, but the bed was a brick, pillows flat, and no internet access. There are places in the village with free wifi.

We stayed in #24 - It's a great location - walk across the street to the lift, walk out the back down to the villiage.

Very spacious - full kitchen w/fridge, stove, microwave, washer/dryer, dining area and living area - along with one bedroom. For the price compared to the other places, this is a good deal. The walls were a bit thin, but was mostly just people walking up/down stairs. We bought groceries and ate breakfast at home.

There is underground parking so you don't have to worry about your car being iced over.

About the internet access - there was a wireless signal that showed up as #31, but alas no password for us. There was even a cable modem, but it must have been deactivated - plugging in didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Absolutley the best!! fully equipted condo,nestled in the Village.Close to all ammenities.I highly recommend this vacation spot for all those travelling to the Olympics,or just wanting to get away!!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed here for our recent Whistler vacation! I realize that all of these units are individually owned, but I imagine that many of them would have the same layout...

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit (we did have to climb about 20 stairs to get to the entrance of the condo - which was a little hard for some of our older family members) - one bedroom on the main floor and two upstairs. We absolutely loved the nice size and open layout of the kitchen, dining area and living room! It was great! All of the bedrooms were wonderful as well! Although there isn't a lot of privacy in the upstairs bedrooms (and this may have been specific to the individual unit we were staying in), as they are really lofts with cut out "windows" overlooking the living room - so no outside air from these rooms either, other than coming from downstairs. Also of course if you are in the living room you can hear everything from upstairs, and vice versa. That was the only con about this unit.

The location is the BEST! Right in between both mountains - but closer to Blackcomb Mtn, but super quick to Whistler Mtn as well! We loved the location!

All in all it was a wonderful condo, great layout and perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powders Edge
Powders Edge
#34 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carleton Lodge
Carleton Lodge
#27 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#22 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.2 mi away
Clock Tower
Clock Tower
#37 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: 4510 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing