We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't stay here in summer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carleton Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carleton Lodge
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Delta BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't stay here in summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked and stayed in this lodge during the summer. Our suite had no air conditioning and no balcony. The suite was oppressively hot. Two small windows opened but did not let in enough air. When we spoke to the front desk they said they were aware and that this was an older building and not all suites had air conditioning. Pity that this was not made evident when we made our booking. We go to Whistler quite often - will never stay at this lodge again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank randaDeltaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were absolutely more than satisfied with our recent stay at the Carlton Lodge, Suite 304. We certainly will try and book with you again. Everything from check-in to check-out was excellent. The suite is completely comfortably and well furnished/stocked. This unit is completely up-to-date and beautifully designed. The beds were very comfortable. Any questions we had were immediately resolved. Even though this is above the Longhorn, it is set back and we did not find it loud or disruptive. We were right at the base of Whistler and Blackomb gondolas. We could not have had a better experience, including the convenience of location.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view. It's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 507 this stay. It is our third time staying at the Carleton. We love the convienent location, in the village, next to both Blackcomb and Whistler gondolas. Ski lockers in the basement and underground parking($20/day) are nice features. Free Wifi!

The unit is a 2000 sq ft, 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath unit with full kitchen, dining table that seats 8, small balcony, small TV and two couches. There is a spiral staircase for access to the loft. there is a closet in enrtyway and laundry room to store ski boots.

The king bedroom on main floor has, TV, wall closet, two dressers and smaller bathroom with shower and single vanity. Up in loft, there is a king bedroom with walk in closet, larger bathroom with a tub/shower combo and large vanity. It has a TV, however bedroom is open to main floor below. To reach this bedroom, you have to walk through the queen bedroom, also in the loft. The queen bedroom has a small wall closet, small bathroom with shower and no TV.

It is a condo, so housekeeping comes once during the week. Most everything you would need to make a meal is in the condo. Staff are attentive if ever there is an issue. We will continue to stay here when we come to this wonderful ski village!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was my first stay, the location is excellent. The unit was spacious but needs to be renovated. The cleaning service was terrible. If you are looking for the best location this is the place. There are many options for restaurants and groceries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayrarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I go to Whistler every year, and this was my first stay at the Carleton. The location is excellent - right at the base of the gondolas to both Whistler and Blackcomb. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The unit is a bit dated and faded and could use a reno, so it wasn't luxurious, but it was clean. My preferred accommodation is the Sundial, but I would book here again for the convenience. We booked 3 nights, and there was no cleaning service or linens during out stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of this condo is fabulous! However, the condo itself could use some work. The blinds in the master bedroom would not go down making it very difficult to dress, sleep, or have any type of privacy (people below in the bar and on the slope wave at you). After two emails addressing the issue, the owner did not respond and the blinds remained up the entire week. He did however offer to bring us a new mattress because of a previous complaint from another renter (very firm and you roll to the middle). We declined because of the inconvenience. The WiFi was not working (the directions we were given were outdated) as well as the TV in the bedroom. Owner was made aware, but seemed unconcerned (he was busy in the outback). Cabinet doors don't close completely, the bathroom door would not close unless you lifted it and turned the knob at the same time, lamp in the bedroom had burned out light bulb, molding around hearth was completely loose presenting a true tripping hazard,...the list goes on and on. It would not take much attention from the owner to make this condo top notch! It is a good thing it is in such a great location...otherwise, my rating would be much lower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredwithtimetrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Carleton is located at the base of the mountain in the middle of Whistler village, as close to ski-in ski-out as you are going to get at WB without paying a fortune.

We stayed in room 404 and the accommodations were great, which was to be expected from the price. The three bedroom suite is setup to accomodate two families - there's a full kitchen on one side and a kitchenette on the other, four bathrooms, two large screen TVs and enough couches to fit a large group. Only three of us stayed in the suite but we used it as the "homebase" for our group of ten.

Great mountain view but because the room is above Longhorn's it can get loud through the night. Another con is that there was only one ski locker available for the room, but the Sundial hotel (who services the Carleton) took our overage into their lockers.

I would recommend the Carleton to anyone visiting Whistler.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise I suggest staying in one of the Village View suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RexBanner3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Powders Edge
Powders Edge
#37 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.1 mi away
Clock Tower
Clock Tower
#33 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountainside Lodge
Mountainside Lodge
#24 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Lodge

Property: Carleton Lodge
Address: 4280 Mountain Sq, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carleton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carleton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing