We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Everything!”
Review of Carleton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carleton Lodge
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Everything!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We recently returned from a week's vacation in Whistler! What an amazing experience. We stayed at the Lodge, room 301, beautiful, clean, well equipped! The location is literally at the entrance to both gondolas and chair lifts. The condo was exceptionally nice, the only surprising thing was having to pay $5 per log to enjoy the fireplace, that was a bummer.

The staff at the resort was amazingly helpful from start to finish. If you stay at the Carlton Lodge you cannot enjoy the pool or hot tub at the hotel, which we were not aware of.

Overall, Whistler was a wonderful place to visit, expensive overall, but truly a snow paradise. We brought along our four teenage boys, and got to enjoy the week immensely.

Room Tip: Room 301 was perfect since we had four kids with us, there were four beds in one room. Even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
52
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Location couldn't be more convenient - steps from the Whistler lifts, right in the center of Whistler Village. Very spacious apartment, with fully equipped kitchen. Surprisingly quiet for the location. Of course, you are paying top dollar for the convenience and the luxury of the lodgings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked this 2 bedroom/bathroom for 5 to stay through Sundial. Everyone enjoyed the comfortable beds, rooms, bathrooms and kitchen facilities! We never got around to using the awesome fireplace as we always had the heater on, but we were extremely happy with the views (especially for fire and ice shows) and location. The gondola is just steps from the door and everything else! The only thing that was bothered anyone, was the noise from the street in one of the rooms, nothing that earplugs couldnt fix though... Booking through sundial also ensured cleaning service every 3 days which was great. Would def recommend and come back to this apartment again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from Whistler and a stay at the Carleton Lodge - the condos associated with the Sundial Hotel. We had a "platinum" accomodation facing the mountains. The location can't be beat - right at the base of the gondolas, located between the Pan Pacific and the Westin. From our balcony we could watch all the action...and there's a lot of it. And, then walk right out the front door and be on the Stroll. And, there is no better definition for ski in/ski out...you could ski right up to the door.

It was a smooth check in at the Sundial and all the condos at the Lodge have their own assigned parking space - in the complex - and that is a big plus in Whistler. We also had a ski locker assigned right in the basement.

I would have given it 5 stars if not for the "master" bedroom - which was a big disappointment. For starters, it didn't have any windows and it was really dark. Then the bedding was cheap...like one of those "bed in a bag" polyester sets that you'd find at a KMart. For the $500/night we were paying, I expected a lot more. Especially because everything else in the condo was very well appointed. We had Aveda products in the bathrooms. The other bedroom - with a window overlooking the lifts - and bunk beds, had nice comforters - so, I'm not sure what was with the "master".

The only positive to the master bedroom not having windows is that the bar next to the lifts plays loud music well past midnight and it was much quieter in the bedroom than in the other rooms.

We had a washer/dryer which was great for wet ski clothes, and a jacquzzi tub which was great for cold bodies. Wi-fi in the condo which was fast and free! (Note to Americans visiting Canada - as soon as we crossed the border we received a text from AT&T that we would be charged $15/1mb of data on our iPhones - and our Verizon plan lost all service...do yourself a favor and check into Canadian service before you go.)

The only other disappointment was the fireplace. It was a fake, electric one.

But overall, we'd definitely stay again. Whistler is a fun spot and the location at the Carleton puts you right in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Mountain side is great for the view - but probably a little noisier with the 2 bars on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendypel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo managed by whistlersbest.com
Apartment was well appointed, with washer, drier, dishwasher, tv, stereo etc.
Exceptionally convenient location - steps to lifts, stores and restaurants.

Apartment was not as noisy as expected, given previous reviews. Bar downstairs seemed to stop music around 9pm, which seemed reasonable.

A toilet got blocked but was dealt with promptly after calling the owner.

My only regret is that we arrived at 3am in Whistler, but had to wait until 3pm to be able to check-in. We were pretty exhausted by the time we finally managed to unpack.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This condo complex is steps away from the Whistler and Blackcomb lifts. The condos are spacious, clean and updated. Prices may be a little higher but you pay for the convenience of the lifts. There are lockers for ski storage in the basement. The condos have washer and dryer in the unit. We have stayed in three different units in the building, all two bedroom and two bath. All a slightly different layout, but each worked well with our family. All have fireplaces. Full size frig, oven, stove, dishwasher. Housekeeping came through once during our stays. Being in the middle of the action does mean some noises outside at night. The mountainside units have great views of the mountains. WiFi was available, but I believe for a price. Parking is underground and access via elevators, so no trekking luggage through snow. Be aware, parking was an additional cost.

Room Tip: End suites are a little bigger, as are center suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed with 6 at the carleton for the warrior dash in august. It was a great deal, great location, clean, sooo much space, full suites, the view would have been great without the scafolding outside but they called me before hand to tell me about it and offered me compensation for the inconvienace which was much appreciated and made us not care at all we could not see out. Its so nice inside you don't care to look out lol! People complain about noise in village, IF YOU ARE OLD AND DON'T WANT TO LISTEN TO DRUNK NOISE ALL NIGHT - stay in upper village at base of blackcomb or Aava - it is always always always going to be loud in lower village expect it and the carleton is the best of the best of location you can get. Noise is a part of the lower village in whistler, everyone should know that before booking, the upper village is quiet and very nice and only a 8 min walk away that is where i will stay when I am not looking to party,. The staff was friendly beds were comfy and having a full kitchen is amazing. WOULD 100% coose this suite/hotel if staying with more then 4 people in whistler again. I will be back again soon. (there is no pool though if going in summer )

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountainside Lodge
Mountainside Lodge
#24 of 49 in Whistler
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Lodge

Property: Carleton Lodge
Address: 4280 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carleton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, JackRabbit Systems and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing