We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carleton lodge - suite 301 Gold”
Review of Carleton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carleton Lodge
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked this 2 bedroom/bathroom for 5 to stay through Sundial. Everyone enjoyed the comfortable beds, rooms, bathrooms and kitchen facilities! We never got around to using the awesome fireplace as we always had the heater on, but we were extremely happy with the views (especially for fire and ice shows) and location. The gondola is just steps from the door and everything else! The only thing that was bothered anyone, was the noise from the street in one of the rooms, nothing that earplugs couldnt fix though... Booking through sundial also ensured cleaning service every 3 days which was great. Would def recommend and come back to this apartment again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from Whistler and a stay at the Carleton Lodge - the condos associated with the Sundial Hotel. We had a "platinum" accomodation facing the mountains. The location can't be beat - right at the base of the gondolas, located between the Pan Pacific and the Westin. From our balcony we could watch all the action...and there's a lot of it. And, then walk right out the front door and be on the Stroll. And, there is no better definition for ski in/ski out...you could ski right up to the door.

It was a smooth check in at the Sundial and all the condos at the Lodge have their own assigned parking space - in the complex - and that is a big plus in Whistler. We also had a ski locker assigned right in the basement.

I would have given it 5 stars if not for the "master" bedroom - which was a big disappointment. For starters, it didn't have any windows and it was really dark. Then the bedding was cheap...like one of those "bed in a bag" polyester sets that you'd find at a KMart. For the $500/night we were paying, I expected a lot more. Especially because everything else in the condo was very well appointed. We had Aveda products in the bathrooms. The other bedroom - with a window overlooking the lifts - and bunk beds, had nice comforters - so, I'm not sure what was with the "master".

The only positive to the master bedroom not having windows is that the bar next to the lifts plays loud music well past midnight and it was much quieter in the bedroom than in the other rooms.

We had a washer/dryer which was great for wet ski clothes, and a jacquzzi tub which was great for cold bodies. Wi-fi in the condo which was fast and free! (Note to Americans visiting Canada - as soon as we crossed the border we received a text from AT&T that we would be charged $15/1mb of data on our iPhones - and our Verizon plan lost all service...do yourself a favor and check into Canadian service before you go.)

The only other disappointment was the fireplace. It was a fake, electric one.

But overall, we'd definitely stay again. Whistler is a fun spot and the location at the Carleton puts you right in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Mountain side is great for the view - but probably a little noisier with the 2 bars on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendypel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo managed by whistlersbest.com
Apartment was well appointed, with washer, drier, dishwasher, tv, stereo etc.
Exceptionally convenient location - steps to lifts, stores and restaurants.

Apartment was not as noisy as expected, given previous reviews. Bar downstairs seemed to stop music around 9pm, which seemed reasonable.

A toilet got blocked but was dealt with promptly after calling the owner.

My only regret is that we arrived at 3am in Whistler, but had to wait until 3pm to be able to check-in. We were pretty exhausted by the time we finally managed to unpack.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This condo complex is steps away from the Whistler and Blackcomb lifts. The condos are spacious, clean and updated. Prices may be a little higher but you pay for the convenience of the lifts. There are lockers for ski storage in the basement. The condos have washer and dryer in the unit. We have stayed in three different units in the building, all two bedroom and two bath. All a slightly different layout, but each worked well with our family. All have fireplaces. Full size frig, oven, stove, dishwasher. Housekeeping came through once during our stays. Being in the middle of the action does mean some noises outside at night. The mountainside units have great views of the mountains. WiFi was available, but I believe for a price. Parking is underground and access via elevators, so no trekking luggage through snow. Be aware, parking was an additional cost.

Room Tip: End suites are a little bigger, as are center suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed with 6 at the carleton for the warrior dash in august. It was a great deal, great location, clean, sooo much space, full suites, the view would have been great without the scafolding outside but they called me before hand to tell me about it and offered me compensation for the inconvienace which was much appreciated and made us not care at all we could not see out. Its so nice inside you don't care to look out lol! People complain about noise in village, IF YOU ARE OLD AND DON'T WANT TO LISTEN TO DRUNK NOISE ALL NIGHT - stay in upper village at base of blackcomb or Aava - it is always always always going to be loud in lower village expect it and the carleton is the best of the best of location you can get. Noise is a part of the lower village in whistler, everyone should know that before booking, the upper village is quiet and very nice and only a 8 min walk away that is where i will stay when I am not looking to party,. The staff was friendly beds were comfy and having a full kitchen is amazing. WOULD 100% coose this suite/hotel if staying with more then 4 people in whistler again. I will be back again soon. (there is no pool though if going in summer )

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We've travelled from Australia to Whistler more than a dozen times for a ski holiday. On this occasion we decided to book a condo in Carleton Lodge for our 10 day visit - it boasted being centrally located to both gondolas, lift ticket booths, ski hire, cafe/bars and restrauants. But the big downside of our stay in Carleton Lodge was that unless we wore earplugs to bed every night we couldn't sleep because of the drunken brawling, shouting and general reverlry on the pedestrian walkways that surround Carleton Lodge after the bars closed around 1am. Furthermore, we received 2 metres of snow during the 10 day period, so we also experienced bulldozers x2 scraping up snow in their metal buckets on these pedestrian paved walkways from 4.30am every morning! Their reverse high pitched 'beeping' noises only increased our exasperation. As you know, the last thing you want after a bad night sleep is knowing that your going to have to find the energy to ski all day. So if your still prepared book in Carleton (and put up with the noise) also check very carefully whether your condo has been renovated as each are individually owned (and confirm that it has wireless internet). This building is over 25 years old and while most of the condos have been beautifully renovated, others remain in their original condition. Will we stay at Carleton Lodge again? The answer is - no.

Where will we stay when we return in January 2012 - we think we'll go back to The Gables - they are good value for money, (also all individually owned so also check interior decor before you book), it's a very quiet location and its a flat short walk to the gondola.

Room Tip: Check that your condo is recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkierAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

For ski holidays our first priority is to ensure that accommodation has the best possible proximity to slopes. And Carleton Lodge fulfilled our expectations!

Our apartment could benefit from renewal, but for all practical matters it was absolutely perfect. Considering the affordable price, it was actually above expectations.

Parking, check in, service at the Sundial, proximity to slopes, shops, restaurants - we won't hesitate for a second to recommend staying at Carleton Lodge if you don't mind self catering. And in our experience: you get the apartment you actually rented. There are at least a couple of sites that will give you the option to look through the different apartments, to make it easier for you to pick your preferred alternative. They have different floor plans, different standards and you have a choice of viewing the mountains or the town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ildri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mountainside Lodge
Mountainside Lodge
#25 of 49 in Whistler
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#19 of 49 in Whistler
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#17 of 49 in Whistler
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Lodge

Address: 4280 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range: $116 - $1,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carleton Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carleton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing