We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic mexican in a place you would least expect”

The Mexican Corner Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 193 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Experience MEXICO in Whistler! Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Serving tasty food from ancient civilizations.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic mexican in a place you would least expect”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

An excellent Mexican restaurant located in Whistler Village British Columbia. The staff are very friendly and the food is fresh with a zing to it. The Ceviche Tostadas were amazing as well as the Quesadillas. All in all a pleasant surprise in Canada.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prasanth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    340
    119
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice spot, give it a whirl”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very good food, ok prices (for Whistler) and good beer. It gets very busy so go late or early and be ready to wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dangould74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had heard good reviews and decided to try this Mexican restaurant. We ordered the tinga tacos and chiles rellenos nagado. Both were nicely presented and tasted even better.

They claim they don't take reservations however when we arrived the bartender said he was holding two empty seats at the bar and told us to wait for a table. They managed to get us in pretty quick and we ordered our drinks. The bartender sat his friends at the bar and chatted with them so our drinks arrived AFTER our food arrived.

Otherwise the food is delicious and although a bit pricey it is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Canada_Jefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best ever!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Somehow we found this little Mexican tucked away in a quiet corner of Whistler Village and what a find!
Wonderful food! Small patio. Friendly staff. Will definitely return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food, stuffy inside on a hot day. No chips”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food here was very good. Very fresh ingredients and good portion size. The margarita, on the other hand, was pretty bad. At $30 for a pitcher it's already pricy, but then after we finished eating we wondered if there was even any alcohol in it at all. Ordinarily after 2 people split a pitcher of anything alcoholic you'd at least expect to feel a little something from the alcohol, but for us we may as well have been drinking (sugared) water.

Perhaps this is just a regional thing but when we sit down at a mexican place in the SF bay area you pretty much always get chips and salsa. That wasn't offered here, although we didn't happen to notice whether it was on the menu or not (we didn't look because we typically don't have to). They were pretty busy when we got there, but they did have a table for two all the way in the back down a little hallway. It's really out of the way and you look out to the walk way next to it so nothing special there. Unfortunately the day we were there the weather was pretty warm and inside was pretty stuffy and warm. Not horrible, but enough to notice.

The wait staff were very friendly and attentive. We ended up walking away thinking the food was good, drinks were poor and it was on the pricy side overall. But then again, you're in Whistler village so that's kind of what we were expecting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican Corner Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to The Mexican Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing