We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mexican Corner Restaurant

The Mexican Corner Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Experience MEXICO in Whistler! Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Serving tasty food from ancient civilizations.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
588 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of those times you wish TripAdvisor gave you a lot more dots you click for "hyper-excellent."

The food here is Mexican, not Tex-Mex. It is beautifully spiced, and fresh as can be. I ate here twice! The ceviche in the fish tostada was as flavourful and light as could be imagined. Returning the next evening, I had the best Margarita I've even had. The chips were freshly made and the dips/sauces each had unique character. The signature lamb was unlike anything I've ever tasted -- deeply spice and paired perfectly with fresh tortillas, beans, and sauces. The flan was as good as I've had.

The chef came out and introduced himself. The staff was attentive and enthusiastic. The setting is colourful and fresh. I'd go back in a heart beat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SyrinxSounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    316
    104
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I travelled from Vancouver to Whistler with a brother who was visiting from Toronto. I didn't expect anything special as many restaurants in Whistler tend to be a mainstream affair.

We arrived just before the rush of visitors to the restaurant. Good timing. We were greeted and seated by a gentleman named Halloween? He had a great attitude and was very welcoming. I ordered a corn soup and the enchilada's. They were incredible. The sauce and filling with the enchilada's were very good. The service was very good and the atmosphere very positive. I will return here in a heart beat in the future. On a side note, the restaurant does have limited seating, so be prepared for a wait when busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
217 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“¡buen provecho!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoy...so glad we got a table on a busy Saturday night, as restaurant is small, with space at a premium. We tried both the Cadillac and regular margaritas, and they were simply perfection. We enjoyed sharing the homemade guacamole , the lamb birria as well as the mixiote....and barely had room but had to have the flan for dessert. if you enjoy authentic Mexican food, you will love the heartfelt preparation and presentation at the Mexican Corner. Staff were exceptional throughout the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good food and service!

Only thing I didn't like was the olives in the ceviche. Is this a thing? Maybe it's just me. Everything else was fantastic so I'm sure they know what they are doing ;)

Great lunch, would dine here again for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Great_Expectations84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great food and great service. Super friendly waiter and great atmosphere. Margaritas were excellent and so was the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesBadgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican Corner Restaurant also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to The Mexican Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing