We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great skiing, food and staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful setting, great skiing, food and staff”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perfect 3 day/2 night cross country ski trip. We got a ride up to the lodge on the first morning and after a briefing and lunch, we headed out to ski a couple loops in perfect snow conditions. Visibility was poor but left a nice new layer of snow each day!! There was a friendly and helpful live-in staff of 4. The dinners were outstanding, and the breakfasts, packed lunches and evening appetizers were also very good. The sleeping rooms are snug but well designed. The common rooms are large and encourage guests to gather and mingle. We skiing eached day and borrowed snowshoes for short walks in the late afternoon. On the last day, the skies cleared and we had spectacular views of the valley and surrounding mountains as we skied the 13 km out to the parking lot!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judys_travels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

What I liked about it:
1. the surrounding area, really beautiful.
2. The food, really good, certainly surpassed my expectations! I spent a fair amount of time trying to figure out how they got everything they needed up there, since it's pretty remote.
3. The ski up there. Fairly difficult-it's about 13.5 km and the first 3-4 km are largely uphill. This makes for a great ski down there, however!

What I didn't like:
1. Not a lot of privacy. Certainly does not make for an intimate weekend for two if that's what you're looking for. Everyone is expected to mingle. If you're part of a large group, that might be fine, but we were not and it was more than a little weird and uncomfortable. Some people would think this is fine, but I was definitely not one of them--I really hated the shared meal idea. They call it "family-style", but it felt very artificial and forced. The rooms are not really private either. People from the large groups are all yelling at each other from their rooms-it's like staying at a student hostel. .
2. Some rather odd rules. An example was this: when we arrived, someone gave us an orientation speech which included the warning to NOT have the windows open at night or a pine marten would get in (umm...what?). We own a cabin in a remote part of BC and no wildlife has EVER tried to get in at night. Maybe pine martens in this part of BC are just really smart or determined? We also noticed that there were screens on the windows, so do the pine martens chew through the screens or do they just remove them first before climbing in? More than a little puzzling...if they are just trying to save on cost of electricity by not having people open windows, then perhaps they could just say that!?!

Room Tip: If you want to have any privacy at all, ask for the Solitude Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

our group hiked into Callaghan Valley Lodge this summer. The positives - this is a luxury backcountry lodge with gourmet food, nicely packed lunches for daily activities, comfy beds and spectacular scenery. One hikes in, carrying everything one needs in a backpack.

The second day we hiked to Ring Lake which was an arduous journey but we loved the experience. This leads to our one complaint: the brochure says that water (include toilet flushing) and electricity are provided by a generator between the hours of 7-10AM and 4-10PM. Upon arrival we were informed that the hours would be between 8-10AM and 5-10AM. This did not seem like a big deal until we returned from a 6 hour hike and had to wait 2 hours for a shower in sweat drenched, then clammy clothes. Remember you do not have an extensive wardrobe via a backpack - and not everyone can do a sauna. Furthermore, at 8:15 the next morning one of our party finally had to go down and ask that the generator be put into operation.

It is a shame that a great adventure was dampened by the lack of such a basic need - including some who decided that they would not return because of this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxineTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our trip at the lodge in March 2012 (see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2Eq0bxIinc ) was amazing!

Amazing staff in the office, amazing hosts at the lodge, great lodge, great sauna, great food and sublime skiing. We got lucky too: sunny sky, stable snow pack and lots of powder.

We are thinking about returning in 2013 with a few friends of ours.

Alex

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We book out the lodge out annually for 2 weeks in March to take our key dealers & media into the backcountry for our Arc'teryx R&D camp. We mainly go back country ski touring and take our own guides, but there is excellent X-country skiing & snow shoeing to be had as well.

We have been going for for the past 4 years. Not just because of the amazing snow fall there, but because we can guarantee that it will be a stress free two weeks for us. We can attend to our guests skiing & equipment needs knowing that we can leave the lodge staff to deal with the rest to their extremely high standards.

The staff are excellent hosts, who provide a 4 star service out in the backcountry and do it in a friendly & down-to-earth manner.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you end up sleeping in - just hang out in the living room by the log...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcteryx_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our third visit to Callaghan Lodge and as always - fabulous. Evan & Kristy, the hosts are wonderful and the food is gourmet and lots of it, which is great after working up a big appetite during the ski in. The addition of the new finnish sauna is wonderful, especially with steps carved out of the snow down to the glacial creek to jump into from the sauna.
Plan to keep going back every year as long as I can ski. Makes for a great weekend away close to home (Vancouver).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a great experience if you love mountains and silence more than shops and bars. The ski in is a slog, particularly the first 3 km which are the steepest and the last 2 km which feel like 5. I'm 65, I x-c ski for 2-3 hours nearly every week and it took me 4 hours of ski time and another 45 minutes for lunch, hydration and photo stops.The lodge is cozy and comfortable and the resident staff are great. If you prefer smaller groups to larger ones, Mondays are usually quiet - there were only 4 of us staying overnight and another 3 came in by snowmobile for dinner. Dinner is better than any restaurant in town and the lunch to pack out is also excellent.
The ski out takes less than half the time of the ski in so you have plenty of time to snow shoe or ski either at the top or the bottom on your departure day. We finished off the day with a trip to Scandinave Spa, another oasis of calm in the Whistler corridor - great pools, steam, sauna, meditation areas and beautiful views. Great nourishment for body and spirit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
12.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,864 reviews
13.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Legends
Legends
#13 of 49 in Whistler
536 reviews
14.3 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
13.3 mi away
Riverside Resort Whistler
Riverside Resort Whistler
#2 of 55 in Whistler
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge

Property: Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Address: 4 Callaghan Valley Rd | Base area is #4 Callaghan Valley Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reservations based mountain Inn (more commonly known as a backcountry lodge) offering a range of accommodation suited to every adventurer’s budget. Journeyman Lodge retains the charm and warmth of traditional alpine culture. Guests eat together and relax together. They share tales and connect with like-minded people who’ve each just had their own best day ever. Humans have been sitting around a fire telling stories since the beginning of time. Why stop now? ​ Witness awe-inspiring mountain vistas, explore untouched wilderness, and relax in the comfort and safety of our charming full-service backcountry lodge. It's a West Coast Must-Do! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing