We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking scenery and fantastic skiing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
The Pas, Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery and fantastic skiing”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Made the 13.8 km ski trek up to the Callaghan Lodge on a weekend and explored the well groomed trail system in the area. The scenery along the way was as breathtaking as was the uphill climb for a "Manitoba flatlander" like myself! The Lodge itself is majestic with all the comforts yet, fits the mountain scenery without being intrusive. Staff at the lodge was extremely friendly and helpful during the stay. Many options are available for rooming as well as options for relaxation - sauna is always great after a long day of enjoying the outdoors! A must do experience for any backcountry outdoor enthusiast!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Juhaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We just spent two days and one night at the Lodge and it was one of the greatest experiences in a long time. The staff are fantastic; friendly, helpful, welcoming and excellent cooks. We spent two days alpine touring and skied some amazing lines. The sauna a cold plunge in the creek topped off the experience. It was great to meet some new people and the location is absolutely spectacular. I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

a group of friends cross country skied the 13.5 kms to the lodge. did i mention it is uphill? there are a couple of alternatives: ride a snowmobile ($120) or take the "soup & shuttle" (weekends only) to callaghan lake and ski the remaining 4.5 kms ($25). room check in is at 3 pm and we were greeted with cookies and tea/coffee. appies are served at 5:30 pm and a 4 course dinner at 7 pm. things were cozy in the bright and airy solitude suite as 5 of us chose to share (it can sleep 8). cross country trails are groomed every morning and snow shoe options abound. and it's the perfect area to alpine tour.......no heli required to access all that tempting terrain (guides can be arranged). at the end of the day a wood burning sauna soothes tired muscles and the hardy can dip in the nearby stream or roll in the 5+ meters of snow. the hosts (a german couple & aussie couple) are congenial and great cooks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfcentheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I did a "pre-Christmas" trip to the Callaghan Lodge. The 14km ski-in, is WORTH THE TRIP! The staff at Callaghan Country were friendly and fantastic. They shuttled our luggage into the lodge, and made us feel entirely pampered and well cared for. The Standard rooms are small, but we didn't spend much time in our room. We used the common/rec room for some pool, ping pong, darts and reading.

The food was amazing and Evan the chef is great. My husband's special dietary needs were accounted for, and the food was well presented and delicious.

We used the toboggans and snowshoes for some additional outdoor fun, and a sauna was still under construction. We'll be back again to check it out for sure!

There were only 10 guests the night we stayed, but the lodge capacity is around 20 I think. What a great retreat and early Christmas present!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistlermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is not pampering luxury - but for a remote lodge in a perfect setting it hit the right notes for us - big, comfortable shared day-room with big windows, fire, games etc.
Fantastic hosts and top notch food.
Different sleeping options (see website - accurate pics/description.)
I hear that they will also open for summer this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I just spent a great night at Callaghan Lodge last weekend with my girlfriend and thought I would add some comments.

The lodge is in a really beautiful location in the upper Callaghan Valley. It’s definitely worth skiing in but as the previous review noted, don’t underestimate how long this will take. I am fairly fit (although first time cross country skiing) and it took 4 hours on classic skis. A couple of other guests on touring skis had planned to do further runs in the day but it was too late (and they were too tired) to do so after getting to the lodge. It might not be clear on the website, but there is a scheduled snowcat service to Callaghan Lake (about 4km from the lodge) for $25 that leaves a few times per day – and takes away most of the hard work. Two nights would be ideal, especially if you are alpine touring, but one night is definitely ok.

The house itself is very nice and fairly well appointed … if you’re accustomed to a self-catered backcountry hut then it’s definitely luxurious. The standard rooms are essentially just a sleeping alcove – 5 of which open onto a common sitting area. But it’s cozy and you won’t be spending much time in the lodge. The lounge on the main floor is nice with a fireplace and even a pool table (+ ping pong!).

Breakfast and Lunch were basic but good, and dinner was very good. It’s nice that you can bring your own alcohol – if you’re a heavy drinker this is a big savings.

It’s not perfect and there are a couple of things that they could definitely improve on. The live-in hosts were very friendly but very much kept to themselves. It would have been nice if they were more forthcoming with information about the surrounding trails and area. The mattress was also terrible (this is maybe a matter of preference). Dinner is set up family style using big tables which isn’t very intimate because they are so big – it was difficult to speak with the guests across the table. A better website with up to date information and online booking is also needed. There’s also apparently a sauna now, but you have to pay a $40 usage fee (and was not mentioned at check-in or by the hosts).

Overall a great experience and highly recommended. It would be a great place to rent out as a group, but also is suitable for singles.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonergan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at the Callaghan Country Lodge for two nights last week. I agree with everything that was said in the previous review, but I wanted to confirm that it is all still true 2 years later. This is a cozy, pleasant lodge way up in the mountains just south of Whistler, BC. Most people cross country ski into the lodge, but the lodge transports all your luggage up by snowmobile. (They will also transport people up by snowmobile for an additional charge.) The ski-in is a pretty strenuous undertaking - 13.5 kilometres with more than 500 m gain in altitude. It took my husband and me (average skiers) 3-1/2 hours to get up there, so be sure to allow enough time to reach the lodge before dark! (We only just made it.) All meals are included for your stay - afternoon appies, a 4 course dinner, generous buffet breakfast, and lunch, either soup and sandwich at the lodge, or a packed box lunch for the adventurous types who prefer to spend their whole day outdoors. Some guests are there for the back country ski touring, but we took a less vigorous approach and just did some easy snowshoeing and a couple of hours of X-country skiing on groomed trails on our second day there. The lodge provides snowshoes, and there are about 20 kilometres of groomed (track set) trails surrounding the lodge. The food was very good, with gourmet flair, and the rooms, although not large, were cozy and comfortable. As mentioned in the previous review, they do not have a liquor licence but you can send up what you want to drink with your luggage (and save yourself a heap of cash). We met a lot of fun people which made the dinner times very enjoyable.
All in all, I would highly recommend this place to people who enjoy the outdoors and are looking to "get away from it all". There are NO "screens" at the lodge - no TV, no computers, no DVDs, no high speed internet. For entertainment there is snow adventures, books by the fire, board games, pool and darts, and good conversation with interesting people. If you can't live without your TiVO or Facebook, don't bother heading up there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
12.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
13.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
13.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
13.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge

Property: Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Address: 4 Callaghan Valley Rd | Base area is #4 Callaghan Valley Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the serene beauty of the Solitude Valley for either lunch or overnights. Share in the adventure of skiing through majestic old-growth forests, across powder-filled meadows, past waterfalls and along the shore of frozen Conflict Lake to the sub-alpine seclusion of Callaghan Country Lodge, a well-appointed, full-service backcountry inn offering friendly West-coast hospitality, unforgettable fine dining and comfortable accommodation for up to 24 guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing