We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Creekside”
Review of First Tracks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Tracks Lodge
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed in a two-bedroom condo at First Tracks four different trips and have been well-pleased each time. Good beds and good service. The property is very well-maintained and the condos are spacious and have looked new each time we've been there. On two occasions we have had family members with it and two times we have shared a condo with another couple and it has worked well both times. Location right by the Creekside condo can't be beat.

Room Tip: We like the two bed-room suites--two good-sized bedrooms and large kitchen and sitting room. Bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 483 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay in Whistler, BC. We traveled with two other families so this was the perfect place for all of us. The fact that the Creekside gondola was right outside the door made it easy for us to get on the mountain first thing in the morning with no difficulty. First tracks Lodge does everything first class. Our accommodations were superb. They didn't miss a beat on anything. The room was equipped with all you needed and if you were missing something they were more than happy to supply you with it. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were super comfy. The staff was very friendly....especially Lukas who greeted us upon arrival. My only disappointment was the concierge. Although they were very nice, they didn't seem very knowledgeable about some of the excursions available in the area. I recommend you do some research on your own and don't rely on the front desk. The resort is also lacking a bar on premises. I'm thinking they probably don't have one there because there is a bar/restaurant across the street and a liquor store within walking distance and it might take away business from them. It would have been nice to be able to have a drink in the lobby after skiing. Each property has a pool and hot tub and that's a must after a day of skiing. Loved this place and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Better view on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the nicest property we've stayed at at Whistler. We've stayed here three times, the latest being the Family Day weekend in February 2013. It's one of the pricier spots in Whistler, but it can't be beat for location (right next to the Creekside gondola), size (spacious enough for a dinner party), and facilities (nice pool). Check-in is next door at Legends, which is fine, and my experience is that the desk staff are excellent - very helpful and accommodating. It's very quiet, and I've never heard any noise from the nearby Dusty's bar whenever we've stayed here. In terms of the condo itself, loved the bathrooms with the heated floors. My only complaint, and it's minor, is that the beautiful kitchen in our last stay was very minimalist in terms of kitchenware, and was notably missing a couple of basics like a non-stick frying pan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel. It had very big bedrooms with a big size bed. The living area was very spacious and had a good view of the mountain. the kitchen utensils are very efficient. The room cleaning service were very helpful. The location of this hotel was perfect right of the slopes. The mountain was fantastic. Overall I thought this was a amazing hotel in an amazing location. I could not fault it! The reception was beautiful and so was the town. Great hotel!

From Lewis aged 12

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and also 3 and 4 bedrooms look over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was huge and very well appointed. They have everything you could want and benefit from daily cleaning. First Tracks Lodge is right on the slopes and so seconds from the lift. Our room was on the top floor so we heard nothing from others, it was very quiet. Free wi-fi and a lovely pool and hot tub are a bonus. The market is close by, but places to eat out in Creekside are limited. Highly recommend First Tracks.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MoneyPenny548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great Lodge ! Well appointed, spacious and had everything you could want in the room.
This place cries out for a bar to compliment the lounge area, but sadly it doesn’t have one. From that point of view it’s a little soulless.

The rooms were great when we stayed in Feb 2013. The lodge seems to be constructed so as sound from rooms on the same level doesn’t travel, but noise from above is very noticeable.

We had perfect sleep until the UK family with 2 kids arrived and got up and wandered around at 5am every day waking us up. We did speak to the desk clerks three times, but we doubt they said anything, as they seemed not to want to potentially offend the family. Perhaps we are a little sensitive to kids walking around in ski boots at 5.00am………. Slippers would have been an idea maybe ?

We would, if we used the place again opt for a top floor room. In think the construction of the building is at fault here, as you should be able to deaden the sound travelling at the design stage.

First Tracks is a good base to ski from, but the Creekside area is quite quiet and has few restaurants. Some have closed but you still have to book the better ones a few days ahead to get a table which was surprising. More life can be found in Whistler itself if that’s your bag. We chose it due to the quiet location to get some well deserved sleep…….

Swimming pool and hot tub in the main area, plus one of the baths in the room was a Jacuzzi one. Nice showers, but they did leak all over the bathroom floor which was surprising for such a nice lodge. Beds were great !

Free Wifi was also a bonus but you did have to log on every day.

What did surprise me was that unlike European ski Resorts the buses were not free. CAN$2.50 per person each way into Whistler. We spent about CAN $100 on buses during our 10 day stay ( £66.00).

The snow which is the main thing, was pretty good throughout.

If you think you can do Whistler on the cheap think again. Its expensive full stop. 4 beers and a small Pizza in Whistler near the Gondola was £35. Eat out in one of the trendy restaurants and you will be looking at in £50 to £80 a head with wine plus a starter and main course.

With respect to Après Ski, its not like Europe at all. Austrian, French and Italian resorts do it much better than either the Canadians or Americans.

We did enjoy a great eating place called 21 steps which was superb in every way.
Great holiday, but due to the strong Canadian dollar an expensive one.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you want some sleep or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xman1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed suite with friends for a weeks skiing in February 2013. Clean comfortable rustic interior, gas fireplace. Good kitchen for breakfasts and snacks - not enough equipment / pans for gourmet cooking, washer dryer for in room laundry. Large bathroom with fab underfloor heating. Hot tubs and pool area good for chilling out after day skiing. Creek side is perfect location for slopes but very quiet and not many restaurant choices for evening - couple had closed down at the time we were there. Easy enough to get bus or taxi into whistler village for more selection. Good choice of location if you are looking for the quiet life, not if you want party central.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#15 of 49 in Whistler
573 reviews
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evolution
Evolution
#18 of 49 in Whistler
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Tracks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Tracks Lodge

Address: 2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whistler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#13 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $143 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Tracks Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Whistler Creekside, First Tracks Lodge is an upscale, condo style hotel. This all suite hotel features suites ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Each suite offers a full kitchen with upscale appliances and granite counter tops, a living area with a gas fireplace, private balconies and one full bathroom per bedroom. This property truly offers all of the comforts of home in a most convenient location. In addition, the Creekside Village is just steps away providing convenient access to a grocery store, liquor store, ski and board rentals, Whistler kids programs as well as a few coffee shops and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your First Tracks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Tracks Hotel Whistler
1st Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing