We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for families. Very happy!”
Review of First Tracks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Tracks Lodge
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel. It had very big bedrooms with a big size bed. The living area was very spacious and had a good view of the mountain. the kitchen utensils are very efficient. The room cleaning service were very helpful. The location of this hotel was perfect right of the slopes. The mountain was fantastic. Overall I thought this was a amazing hotel in an amazing location. I could not fault it! The reception was beautiful and so was the town. Great hotel!

From Lewis aged 12

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and also 3 and 4 bedrooms look over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 488 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was huge and very well appointed. They have everything you could want and benefit from daily cleaning. First Tracks Lodge is right on the slopes and so seconds from the lift. Our room was on the top floor so we heard nothing from others, it was very quiet. Free wi-fi and a lovely pool and hot tub are a bonus. The market is close by, but places to eat out in Creekside are limited. Highly recommend First Tracks.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MoneyPenny548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great Lodge ! Well appointed, spacious and had everything you could want in the room.
This place cries out for a bar to compliment the lounge area, but sadly it doesn’t have one. From that point of view it’s a little soulless.

The rooms were great when we stayed in Feb 2013. The lodge seems to be constructed so as sound from rooms on the same level doesn’t travel, but noise from above is very noticeable.

We had perfect sleep until the UK family with 2 kids arrived and got up and wandered around at 5am every day waking us up. We did speak to the desk clerks three times, but we doubt they said anything, as they seemed not to want to potentially offend the family. Perhaps we are a little sensitive to kids walking around in ski boots at 5.00am………. Slippers would have been an idea maybe ?

We would, if we used the place again opt for a top floor room. In think the construction of the building is at fault here, as you should be able to deaden the sound travelling at the design stage.

First Tracks is a good base to ski from, but the Creekside area is quite quiet and has few restaurants. Some have closed but you still have to book the better ones a few days ahead to get a table which was surprising. More life can be found in Whistler itself if that’s your bag. We chose it due to the quiet location to get some well deserved sleep…….

Swimming pool and hot tub in the main area, plus one of the baths in the room was a Jacuzzi one. Nice showers, but they did leak all over the bathroom floor which was surprising for such a nice lodge. Beds were great !

Free Wifi was also a bonus but you did have to log on every day.

What did surprise me was that unlike European ski Resorts the buses were not free. CAN$2.50 per person each way into Whistler. We spent about CAN $100 on buses during our 10 day stay ( £66.00).

The snow which is the main thing, was pretty good throughout.

If you think you can do Whistler on the cheap think again. Its expensive full stop. 4 beers and a small Pizza in Whistler near the Gondola was £35. Eat out in one of the trendy restaurants and you will be looking at in £50 to £80 a head with wine plus a starter and main course.

With respect to Après Ski, its not like Europe at all. Austrian, French and Italian resorts do it much better than either the Canadians or Americans.

We did enjoy a great eating place called 21 steps which was superb in every way.
Great holiday, but due to the strong Canadian dollar an expensive one.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you want some sleep or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xman1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed suite with friends for a weeks skiing in February 2013. Clean comfortable rustic interior, gas fireplace. Good kitchen for breakfasts and snacks - not enough equipment / pans for gourmet cooking, washer dryer for in room laundry. Large bathroom with fab underfloor heating. Hot tubs and pool area good for chilling out after day skiing. Creek side is perfect location for slopes but very quiet and not many restaurant choices for evening - couple had closed down at the time we were there. Easy enough to get bus or taxi into whistler village for more selection. Good choice of location if you are looking for the quiet life, not if you want party central.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank PLW317
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in room 211 (3 bedrooms) with my family. We had a week here and found this location and lodge to be very good. The location is creekside at Whistler and not the main village. In my opinion this is actually the best area to stay, unless you value convenient night-life in the main village. The lodge is not even 50m to the creek side chair lift. The room and views of the chairlift. The lodge hotel has a receptionist and 24hr reception available from the Legends hotel. The apartment is well equipped. I would definitely stay here again.

Positives:
Location, apartment size
equipment, local services, hot pool, elevator, secure ski lockers.

Negatives (minor):
Card access swipe cards kept failing and this got a bit annoying at times.
Pool had a bit of a smell to it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlpineAndyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First Tracks Lodge is so worthy of it's No 1 status on Tripadvisor, as other reviewers mentioned, quieter than Whistler, Creekside Gondola on your doorstep, 2 bedroomed apartment with ensuites, great shower and spa bath, underfloor heating, friendly staff, bus stop (can get tickets from concierge), eateries, supermarket all nearby. Daily housekeeping was a treat, clean gym, outdoor pool, warm reception.
If I was going to nitpick, the apartment didn't have a drying room but we just used the fireplace in the lounge room. Also the ski lockers were so convenient at the back door, but was a little tight for space.
Would definately stay again and highly recommend this accomodation in a very pretty part of the world.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the mountain and loved it.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank blossySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#15 of 49 in Whistler
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
916 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,834 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Tracks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Tracks Lodge

Address: 2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whistler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#13 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $194 - $1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Tracks Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Whistler Creekside, First Tracks Lodge is an upscale, condo style hotel. This all suite hotel features suites ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Each suite offers a full kitchen with upscale appliances and granite counter tops, a living area with a gas fireplace, private balconies and one full bathroom per bedroom. This property truly offers all of the comforts of home in a most convenient location. In addition, the Creekside Village is just steps away providing convenient access to a grocery store, liquor store, ski and board rentals, Whistler kids programs as well as a few coffee shops and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your First Tracks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Tracks Hotel Whistler
1st Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing